Educational System

All children living in the Canton of Zurich have the right to education in Compulsory Public Schools (Volksschule). After the compulsory period of education, the students transition into secondary level II. Afterwards, students have access to a wide range of university education on tertiary level.

Table of contents

Compulsory Period of Education

In the Canton of Zurich, compulsory education generally begins at the age of 4. Children who are 4 years old by July 31 (cut-off date) enter kindergarten at the beginning of the next school year. The compulsory education period is 11 years.

Compulsory public schools are free of charge and politically as well as denominationally neutral. All children domiciled in the Canton of Zurich have the right to attend compulsory public school, comprising kindergarten, primary and secondary school.

During the compulsory period of education, children and young people receive basic education qualifying them for access to vocational education and training (VET) or to continuative intermediate schools.

Kindergarten

Kindergarten is the entry level of compulsory public school and takes 2 years to complete.

Primary School

After kindergarten, kids pass on to primary school. It is divided into lower level (grade 1 to 3) and middle level (grade 4 to 6) and takes 6 years to complete.

After grade 6 of primary school, the students have two different options. They either pass on to secondary school or change over to baccalaureate school (Gymnasium). To change over to long-term baccalaureate school, the students need to pass an admission examination.

Secondary School

After primary school, students pass on to secondary school, which takes 3 years to complete. During this time, students acquire the skills to successfully transition to a Vocational Education and Training School (VET School) or they enter Intermediate School after having passed the admission examination.

Overview of school levels in the Canton of Zurich
Overview of school levels in the Canton of Zurich. Image source: Bildungsdirektion Kanton Zürich Download picture «Overview of school levels in the Canton of Zurich»

Bridge-Year Programmes

Bridge-year programmes are available to young people wo do not succeed in transitioning to vocational education and training right after the compulsory period of education.

Secondary Level II

After having completed the compulsory period of education, young people have the option between vocational and general education schools.

Vocational Education and Training (VET)

Vocational education and training (apprenticeship) takes 2 to 4 years to complete. The practical professional knowledge and skills are taught in a company (in-company training), the academic knowledge and skills are taught in VET Schools (= dual system). Graduates of VET schools obtain a federal diploma (Federal VET Certificate (EBA) or Federal VET Diploma (EFZ)). The Canton of Zurich provides for apprenticeships in over 200 professions.

In addition, the Federal Vocational Baccalaureate is open to young people performing well at school. This degree can be attained during vocational education and training (BM 1) or after graduating from VET School (BM 2). The Federal Vocational Baccalaureate qualifies the graduates for studies at universities of applied sciences or alternatively for studies at a university by means of completing the «Passerelle» (university / ETH entrance qualification).

Vocational Intermediate Schools

Business schools (HMS) and IT schools (IMS) are so-called vocational intermediate schools. They combine general education with the focus on a specialised stream and an apprenticeship. Business and IT schools require passing an admission examination. Graduates of vocational intermediate schools obtain the Federal VET Diploma (EFZ) (commercial employee or IT professional) or the Federal Vocational Baccalaureate.

Specialized Intermediate School

The specialized intermediate school (FMS) provides general education and promotes personal development, allowing for an individual focus on future occupational fields and vocational training. It is suited for students who want to obtain broad general education and prepare for higher education in a chosen occupational field. After a foundation year, the students can emphasise on a certain occupational field.

Baccalaureate Schools

Students can either transition to baccalaureate school right after completing primary level (long-term baccalaureate school, duration: 6 years) or after completing 2 or 3 years of secondary level (short-term baccalaureate school, duration: 4 years). Young people performing well at school can transition to long-term baccalaureate school after grade 6 (primary school) or to short-term baccalaureate school after grade 10 or 11 (secondary school). In order to do so, students have to pass the Central Admission Examination (ZAP).

Successfully completing baccalaureate school leads to the award of the baccalaureate diploma, which is recognized across Switzerland. It qualifies for studies at all Swiss universities and the Swiss Federal Institutes of Technology (ETH).

Overview of educational pathways in the Canton of Zurich
Overview of educational pathways in the Canton of Zurich. Image source: Bildungsdirektion Kanton Zürich Download picture «Overview of educational pathways in the Canton of Zurich »

Tertiary Level

After secondary level II, students pass on to tertiary level and in the Canton of Zurich, that level comprises a variety of academic or practice-oriented studies.

Higher Vocational Education

The Federal VET Diploma is the basis for higher vocational education. Students of higher vocational education can earn one of the following federal diplomas:

  • Federal Diploma of Higher Education (after passing the final apprenticeship exams)
  • Advanced Federal Diploma of Higher Education (after passing the College of Higher Education examination; next level of the Federal Diploma of Higher Education)
  • College of Higher Education Diploma (HF Diploma); with a HF Diploma, there is also the possibility to complete a bachelor's degree at a university.

Universities

There are several ways to get admitted to universities in the Canton of Zurich. Depending on the kind of university, a different diploma might be necessary.

  • Universities of Applied Sciences (FH)
    • Federal Vocational Baccalaureate or Specialised Baccalaureate
    • Baccalaureate and 1 year of professional experience
  • Universities of Teacher Education (PH)
    • Baccalaureate
    • Federal Vocational Baccalaureate or Specialised Baccalaureate with the additional entrance examination «Passerelle»
  • Universities University of Zurich and Federal Institute of Technology (ETH)
    • Baccalaureate
    • Federal Vocational Baccalaureate or Specialised Baccalaureate with the additional entrance examination «Passerelle»

This list is not exhaustive, there are numerous other ways. You can find more information here:

Quaternary Level

In the Canton of Zurich, there are numerous possibilities for further education and training after completing an apprenticeship or graduating from university.

Contact

Bildungsdirektion More information

Address

Walcheplatz 2
8090 Zürich
Show route

Email

info­@bi.zh.ch

(Für allgemeine Anfragen)

 

Medienkontakt Bildungsdirektion

Bildungssystem

Alle Kinder, die im Kanton Zürich leben, haben das Recht, die öffentliche Volksschule zu besuchen. Nach der obligatorischen Schulzeit treten die Schülerinnen und Schüler in die Sekundarstufe II über. Anschliessend steht den Studierenden auf der Tertiärstufe ein vielseitiges Angebot an Hochschulen zur Verfügung.

Inhaltsverzeichnis

Obligatorische Schulzeit

Im Kanton Zürich beginnt die Schulpflicht in der Regel mit 4 Jahren. Kinder, die bis zum Stichtag (31. Juli) das 4. Altersjahr vollenden, treten auf Anfang des nächsten Schuljahres in den Kindergarten ein. Die Schulpflicht dauert 11 Jahre.

Die öffentliche Volksschule ist kostenlos sowie politisch und konfessionell neutral. Alle Kinder mit Aufenthalt im Kanton Zürich haben das Recht, die Volksschule zu besuchen. Sie umfasst den Kindergarten, die Primarschule und die Sekundarschule.

In der obligatorischen Schulzeit erhalten Kinder und Jugendliche eine Grundbildung, welche ihnen den Zugang zur Berufsbildung oder zu weiterführenden Schulen ermöglicht.

Kindergarten

Der Kindergarten ist die Eingangsstufe der obligatorischen Volksschule und dauert 2 Jahre.

Primarschule

Die Primarschule schliesst an den Kindergarten an. Sie ist in die Unterstufe (1. bis 3. Klasse) und die Mittelstufe (4. bis 6. Klasse) gegliedert und dauert 6 Jahre.

Nach der 6. Primarklasse stehen den Schülerinnen und Schülern zwei verschiedene Wege offen. Sie besuchen danach entweder die Sekundarschule oder wechseln ans Gymnasium. Für den Eintritt ins Langgymnasium muss eine Aufnahmeprüfung bestanden werden.

Sekundarschule

Die Sekundarschule schliesst an die Primarschule an und dauert 3 Jahre. In dieser Zeit werden die Schülerinnen und Schüler befähigt, den Übergang in die berufliche Grundbildung erfolgreich zu meistern, oder sie treten nach bestandener Aufnahmeprüfung in eine Mittelschule ein.

Übersicht über die Schulstufen im Kanton Zürich
Übersicht über die Schulstufen im Kanton Zürich. Quelle: Bildungsdirektion Kanton Zürich Bild «Übersicht über die Schulstufen im Kanton Zürich» herunterladen

Brückenangebote

Jugendlichen, denen nach der obligatorischen Schulzeit der Übergang in die Berufsbildung nicht auf Anhieb gelingt, stehen Brückenangebote zur Verfügung.

Sekundarstufe II

Nachdem die Jugendlichen die obligatorische Schulzeit abgeschlossen haben, stehen ihnen berufsbildende und allgemeinbildende Ausbildungsgänge offen.

Berufliche Grundbildung

Die berufliche Grundbildung (Berufslehre) dauert 2 bis 4 Jahre. Die berufspraktischen Kenntnisse und Fertigkeiten werden in einem Lehrbetrieb vermittelt, die schulischen in der Berufsfachschule (= duales System). Die beruflichen Grundbildungen schliessen mit einem eidgenössischen Abschluss (eidgenössisches Berufsattest EBA bzw. eidgenössisches Fähigkeitszeugnis EFZ) ab. Im Kanton Zürich werden Lehrstellen in über 200 Lehrberufen angeboten.

Schulisch leistungsstarken Jugendlichen steht zudem die Berufsmaturität offen. Diese kann während der beruflichen Grundbildung (BM 1) oder nach Abschluss der beruflichen Grundbildung (BM 2) erworben werden. Die Berufsmaturität qualifiziert die Absolventinnen und Absolventen zum Eintritt in eine Fachhochschule oder mittels Passerelle an einer Universität.

Berufsorientierte Mittelschulen

Die Handelsmittelschule (HMS) und die Informatikmittelschule (IMS) sind berufsorientierte Mittelschulen. Sie verknüpfen allgemeinbildende Inhalte mit einem konkreten Ausbildungsschwerpunkt und einer Berufsausbildung. HMS und IMS setzen eine bestandene Aufnahmeprüfung voraus. Die berufsorientierten Mittelschulen schliessen mit dem eidgenössischen Fähigkeitszeugnis EFZ (als Kaufmann/Kauffrau bzw. Informatiker/Informatikerin) und der eidgenössischen Berufsmaturität ab.

Fachmittelschule

Die Fachmittelschule (FMS) ist eine allgemein- und persönlichkeitsbildende Ausbildung, die eine individuelle Ausrichtung auf das spätere Berufs- und Ausbildungsfeld ermöglicht. Sie eignet sich für Schülerinnen und Schüler, die eine breite Allgemeinbildung erwerben und sich auf eine höhere Ausbildung in einem von ihnen gewählten Berufsfeld vorbereiten wollen. Nach einem Grundjahr können sich die Schülerinnen und Schüler in ein bestimmtes Berufsfeld vertiefen.

Gymnasiale Mittelschulen

Der Übertritt in ein Gymnasium erfolgt entweder nach der Primarstufe (Langgymnasium, Dauer 6 Jahre) oder nach 2 respektive 3 Jahren auf der Sekundarstufe (Kurzgymnasium, Dauer 4 Jahre). Leistungsstarke Jugendliche können nach der 6. Primarklasse ins Langgymnasium sowie nach der 2. oder 3. Sekundarklasse ins Kurzgymnasium wechseln. Dazu müssen die Schülerinnen und Schüler die zentrale Aufnahmeprüfung (ZAP) bestehen.

Die Bildungsgänge der Gymnasien führen zu einem schweizerisch anerkannten Maturitätszeugnis. Dieses berechtigt zum Studium an allen schweizerischen Universitäten und den Eidgenössischen Technischen Hochschulen.

Übersicht über die Bildungswege im Kanton Zürich
Übersicht über die Bildungswege im Kanton Zürich. Quelle: Bildungsdirektion Kanton Zürich Bild «Übersicht über die Bildungswege im Kanton Zürich» herunterladen

Tertiärstufe

Die Tertiärstufe schliesst an die Sekundarstufe II an und umfasst im Kanton Zürich ein breites Angebot an akademischen oder praxisorientierten Ausbildungsgängen.

Höhere Berufsbildung

Die höhere Berufsbildung baut auf dem Eidgenössischen Fähigkeitszeugnis EFZ auf. Die Bildungsangebote der höheren Berufsbildung führen zu einem der folgenden eidgenössischen Abschlüsse:

  • Eidgenössischer Fachausweis (nach bestandener Berufsprüfung)
  • Eidgenössisches Diplom (nach bestandener höherer Fachprüfung; nächsthöhere Stufe des eidgenössischen Fachausweises)
  • Diplom der höheren Fachschule (mit einem Diplom HF besteht auch die Möglichkeit, ein Bachelorstudium an einer Hochschule zu absolvieren.)

Hochschulen 

Es gibt verschiedene Wege, um an einer Zürcher Hochschule zum Studium zugelassen zu werden. Je nach Hochschultyp ist ein anderer Abschluss notwendig.

  • Fachhochschulen FH
    • Berufsmaturität oder Fachmaturität
    • Gymnasiale Maturität und 1 Jahr Berufspraxis
  • Pädagogische Hochschule PH
    • Gymnasiale Maturität
    • Berufsmaturität oder Fachmaturität mit Ergänzungsprüfung Passerelle
  • Universitäre Hochschulen: Universität Zürich und ETH
    • Gymnasiale Maturität
    • Berufsmaturität oder Fachmaturität mit Ergänzungsprüfung Passerelle

Diese Liste ist nicht abschliessend, zahlreiche weitere Wege sind möglich. Mehr dazu finden Sie hier:

Quartärstufe

Nach Ausbildung und Studium gibt es im Kanton Zürich zahlreiche Fort- und Weiterbildungsmöglichkeiten.

Kontakt

Bildungsdirektion Mehr erfahren

Adresse

Walcheplatz 2
8090 Zürich
Route anzeigen

E-Mail

info@bi.zh.ch

(Für allgemeine Anfragen)

 

Medienkontakt Bildungsdirektion