Location for Science and Higher Education

Visualisierung des Innovationsparks Zürich

As a renowned location for science and higher education, Zurich is a leading player both nationally and internationally. Zurich's universities, scientific institutions and platforms such as Innovation Park and research institutes of the ETH Domain push ahead in research and development within the Canton of Zurich.

Table of contents

Research Institutes

Innovation Park

The Innovation Park Zurich creates new platforms for research, development and innovation on the Dübendorf airbase. These platforms promote cooperation and exchange of knowledge between Zurich's universities, research institutions and the private sector with the objective of translating research results into marketable products and services.

Visualisation of the Innovation Park
The Innovation Park Zurich creates new platforms for research, development and innovation on the Dübendorf airbase. Image source: Innovationspark

Research Institutes of the ETH Domain

The ETH Domain comprises the two Federal Institutes of Technology in Zurich (ETH Zürich) and in Lausanne (EPFL), as well as four research institutes:

Agroscope

The Federal Agricultural Research Institute (Agroscope) based in Wädenswil researches along the entire value chain of the agriculture and food sector.

Research institute Agroscope in Reckenholz
Research institute Agroscope in Zurich Affoltern. Image source: Agroscope, Foto: Gabriela Braendle

In addition to those institutes, numerous private companies are successfully engaged in research and innovation in the canton of Zurich: The IBM Research Zurich based in Rüschlikon, Sulzer Innotec based in Winterthur and the European research institute by Google based in Zürich, just to name a few.

Technology Transfer

Technology transfer is essential in economic utilization of technical knowledge. Interfaces between universities, research institutes and economy are of great importance in this regard.

Unitectra

Unitectra is the technology transfer organization of the universities of Basel, Berne and Zurich. Its services support scientists in their collaborations with the private sector and other institutions. In close collaborations with the scientists, Unitectra handles the translation of research results into new products and services, cooperating with existing companies and supporting the founding of academic spin-off companies.

ETH transfer

ETH transfer is the technology transfer office of ETH Zurich. It supports the ETH community in all questions relating to research contracts with the industry, inventions, patent applications and licensing. ETH transfer supports young entrepreneurs in the early stage of founding ETH spin-off companies.

Entrepreneurship@ZHAW

Entrepreneurship@ZHAW integrates all start-up activities at the ZHAW and is the contact point and information centre for prospective start-ups and for members of the ZHAW who are interested in founding a company.

Contact

Hochschulamt

Address

Walcheplatz 2
8090 Zürich
Show route

Phone

+41 43 259 23 48

Sabine Zaugg, Sekretariat

Für dieses Thema zuständig:

Wissenschafts- und Hochschulplatz

Visualisierung des Innovationsparks Zürich

Der Zürcher Wissenschafts- und Hochschulplatz ist national sowie international von grosser Bedeutung. Neben den Zürcher Hochschulen treiben wissenschaftliche Einrichtungen und Plattformen wie der Innovationspark oder die Forschungsanstalten des ETH-Bereichs die Forschung und Entwicklung im Kanton voran.

Inhaltsverzeichnis

Forschungsanstalten

Innovationspark

Der Innovationspark Zürich schafft auf dem Areal des Flugplatzes Dübendorf eine neue Plattform für Forschung, Entwicklung und Innovation. Diese Plattform fördert die Zusammenarbeit und den Wissensaustausch zwischen den Zürcher Hochschulen, den Forschungsinstitutionen und der Privatwirtschaft. Das Ziel ist die Umsetzung von Forschungsergebnissen in marktfähige Produkte und Dienstleistungen.

Visualisierung des Innovationsparks Zürich
Der Innovationspark Zürich schafft auf dem Areal des Flugplatzes Dübendorf eine neue Plattform für Forschung, Entwicklung und Innovation. Quelle: Innovationspark

Forschungsanstalten des ETH-Bereichs

Der ETH-Bereich umfasst neben den beiden Eidgenössischen Technischen Hochschulen in Zürich (ETH Zürich) und Lausanne (EPFL) auch vier Forschungsanstalten:

Agroscope

Die landwirtschaftliche Forschungsanstalt des Bundes (Agroscope) in Wädenswil betreibt Forschung entlang der gesamten Wertschöpfungskette der Land- und Ernährungswirtschaft.

Forschungsanstalt Agroscope Reckenholz
Forschungsanstalt Agroscope in Zürich-Affoltern. Quelle: Agroscope, Foto: Gabriela Braendle

Darüber hinaus betreiben zahlreiche private Unternehmen im Kanton Zürich erfolgreich Forschung und Innovation. Zu diesen Unternehmen gehören zum Beispiel das IBM Forschungsinstitut in Rüschlikon, Sulzer Innotec in Winterthur oder das europäische Forschungszentrum von Google in Zürich.

Technologietransfer

Technologietransfer braucht es, um technisches Wissen wirtschaftlich nutzbar zu machen. Wichtig sind dafür Schnittstellen zwischen Hochschulen, Forschungseinrichtungen und Wirtschaft.

Unitectra

Unitectra ist die Technologietransfer-Organisation der Universitäten Basel, Bern und Zürich. Mit ihren Dienstleistungen unterstützt sie die Forschenden bei Kooperationen mit der Privatwirtschaft und anderen Institutionen. Unitectra kümmert sich in enger Zusammenarbeit mit den Forschenden um die praktische Umsetzung von Forschungsergebnissen in neue Produkte und Dienstleistungen. Die Umsetzung erfolgt in Kooperation mit bestehenden Firmen oder durch Unterstützung der Gründung von universitären Spin-off-Firmen.

ETH transfer

ETH transfer ist die Technologietransferstelle der ETH Zürich. Sie unterstützt ETH-Angehörige bei Fragen zu Forschungsverträgen mit der Industrie, Erfindungen, Patentanmeldungen und Lizenzierungen. ETH transfer stellt Förderinstrumente für Jungunternehmer in der Gründungsphase einer ETH Spin-off-Firma zur Verfügung.

Entrepreneurship@ZHAW

Entrepreneurship@ZHAW vereint alle Gründeraktivitäten an der ZHAW und ist Anlaufs- und Beratungsstelle für angehende Start-ups und gründungsinteressierte Angehörige der ZHAW.

Kontakt

Hochschulamt

Adresse

Walcheplatz 2
8090 Zürich
Route anzeigen

Telefon

+41 43 259 23 48

Sabine Zaugg, Sekretariat

Für dieses Thema zuständig: