Department of Justice and Home Affairs

The Department of Justice and Home Affairs takes on a large variety of tasks, from the State Archives, the Statistical Office, Cultural Affairs, the Public Prosecution Service to the Office of Corrections and Rehabilitation, to name only a few.

Jacqueline Fehr, Member of the Government Council

Jacqueline Fehr

Head of the Department of Justice and Home Affairs

Learn more

Table of contents

About us

In the midst of things: No other department in the canton of Zurich tackles as wide an array of tasks and responsibilities as the Department of Justice and Home Affairs. As the name suggests, it includes those aspects of justice for which the Government Council is responsible: criminal investigations, indictments and the enforcement of sentences and measures. The courts that pass the verdicts are separate authorities. The police in Zurich, which investigates on behalf of the public prosecutors, is under the Department of Security.

In the field of execution of Corrections and Rehabilitation, the Department of Justice and Home Affairs runs several prisons, including Pöschwies, Switzerland’s largest correctional facility. Specialized entities such as the victim counselling service of the canton of Zurich are also part of the Department.

As a contrast to these areas of activity, we are also responsible for what is traditionally called «Home Affairs». It includes the relationship with the municipalities, especially inter-cantonal fiscal equalization aimed at mitigating differences in the financial capacities of Zurich's municipalities. The State Archives, where 1,000 years of Zurich history are stored and preserved, the Commercial Registry Office and the Statistical Office, responsible, amongst other things, for elections and votes, are also part of the Department of Justice and Home Affairs. And various Offices are in charge of topics such as the promotion of culture, gender equality and the integration of the foreign resident population.

Some 1,900 employees work at the Department of Justice and Home Affairs, at the General Secretariat, at 11 different Offices and services and in two affiliated fields. From handymen and prison psychologists to social workers at the probation and corrections services and mathematicians at the Statistical Office to the conservators at the State Archives – the Department of Justice and Home Affairs employs a large variety of experts from different fields.
 

Communication

It is very important to us to be transparent and communicate as openly as possible. The communications department at the General Secretariat deals with questions from the media or helps you contact experts that work for the department. It also supports the Head of Department when she has public appearances.

The media is informed about current issues at press conferences or through press releases.

If you have questions concerning ongoing criminal proceedings, please contact the media department at the Public Prosecutor’s Office of the Canton of Zurich. The head of communications at the Office of Corrections and Rehabilitation can provide answers to questions regarding the execution of penal sentences.

We are happy to help with questions and research on topics related to the Department of Justice and Home Affairs.

Contact

Corporate Communication
Department of Justice and Home Affairs

Neumühlequai 10, Kaspar Escher-Haus
8090 Zürich

Phone +41 43 259 25 50

E-Mail medien@ji.zh.ch

Contact

Direktion der Justiz und des Innern

Address

Postfach
Neumühlequai 10
8090 Zürich
Show route

Direktion der Justiz und des Innern

Die Direktion der Justiz und des Innern hat eine grosse Vielfalt an Aufgaben zu erfüllen: von A wie Archivwesen bis Z wie Zivilstandswesen.

 Jacqueline Fehr., Regierungsrätin.

Jacqueline Fehr

Vorsteherin der Direktion der Justiz und des Innern

Mehr erfahren

Inhaltsverzeichnis

Über uns

Mitten im Leben: Keine andere kantonale Zürcher Direktion hat eine solche Vielfalt von Aufgaben zu erfüllen wie diejenige der Justiz und des Innern. Wie der Name vermuten lässt, gehören dazu jene Bereiche der Justiz, für die der Regierungsrat verantwortlich ist: Strafuntersuchungen, Anklage und der Vollzug von Strafen und Massnahmen. Die Gerichte, welche die Urteile fällen, sind eine separate Gewalt. Und die Polizei, welche im Auftrage der Staatsanwältinnen und Staatsanwälte ermittelt, untersteht in Zürich der Sicherheitsdirektion.

Im Bereich des Justizvollzugs führt die Direktion der Justiz und des Innern mehrere Gefängnisse und mit der Anlage Pöschwies die grösste Justizvollzugsanstalt der Schweiz. Zur Direktion gehören auch spezialisierte Stellen wie die Opferhilfe des Kantons Zürich.

Ein Kontrastprogramm zu den Justizaufgaben bildet der traditionell «Inneres» genannte Bereich. Hierzu gehören die Beziehungen zu den Gemeinden, speziell der innerkantonale Finanzausgleich, der Ungleichheiten in der Finanzkraft der Zürcher Gemeinden ebnet. Auch das Staatsarchiv, das 1000 Jahre Zürcher Geschichte konserviert, das Handelsregisteramt und das Statistische Amt, das auch für Wahlen und Abstimmungen zuständig ist, gehören zur Direktion «JI». Mehrere Fachstellen kümmern sich um Themen wie die Kulturförderung, die Gleichstellung von Mann und Frau und die Integration der ausländischen Wohnbevölkerung.

Rund 1900 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter arbeiten in der Direktion der Justiz und des Innern, im Generalsekretariat, in 4 Ämtern, 3 Fachämtern, 4 Fachstellen und zwei angegliederten Bereichen. Von handwerklichen Ausbildnern oder Psychologen in der Strafanstalt über Sozialarbeiter in den Bewährungs- und Vollzugsdiensten und Mathematikern im Statistischen Amt bis zu den Restaurateuren im Staatsarchiv ist die Direktion der Justiz und des Innern Arbeitsort für eine Vielzahl an unterschiedlich ausgebildeten Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern.

Kommunikation

Transparenz und eine möglichst offene Kommunikation sind uns sehr wichtig. Die Abteilung Kommunikation im Generalsekretariat beantwortet Anfragen von Medienschaffenden oder vermittelt Fachpersonen aus der gesamten Direktion. Zudem unterstützt sie die Direktionsvorsteherin bei öffentlichen Auftritten.

Zu aktuellen Themen informieren wir die Medien an Medienkonferenzen oder durch Medienmitteilungen.

Bei Fragen zu laufenden Strafverfahren wenden Sie sich bitte an die Medienstelle der Zürcher Staatsanwaltschaft, Auskünfte rund um Themen des Justizvollzugs erteilt in der Regel die Kommunikationsbeauftragte von Justizvollzug und Wiedereingliederung.

Bei Fragen und Recherchen zu Themen der Direktion für Justiz und Inneres helfen wir Ihnen gerne.

Kontakt

Abteilung Kommunikation
Direktion der Justiz und des Innern

Neumühlequai 10
8090 Zürich

Telefon +41 43 259 25 50

E-Mail medien@ji.zh.ch

Kontakt

Direktion der Justiz und des Innern

Adresse

Postfach
Neumühlequai 10
8090 Zürich
Route anzeigen

Telefon