Department of Health

The population of the Canton of Zurich can count on a comprehensive health care system. It consists of far more than high-quality medical care and good hospitals: Effective medication, healthy animals, safe food, and quality assurance concerning utensils and objects of everyday use are also part of it.

Natalie Rickli, Member of the Government Council

Natalie Rickli

Member of the Government Council

Learn more

Table of contents

About us

We care about the people of Zurich and their health. That is why our 450 employees work to guarantee high-quality healthcare every day.

Our competences include supervision and permit matters, the planning and financing of hospitals, tariffs, premium reductions, and, last but not least, prevention and health promotion.

Healthcare

The healthcare division ensures the planning and management of our healthcare system. It develops the statistical and planning bases, purchases the necessary services from hospitals and health institutions, and oversees performance and finance controlling.

Medicine

The medical division comprises the units Cantonal Medical Service, Cantonal Dentistry Service, healthcare professions and licenses, and prevention. It continuously checks if the healthcare professionals and people who work in healthcare and medical institutions fulfil their professional duties and responsibilities properly.

Epidemics are a particular challenge, caused by communicable diseases such as COVID-19, measles, or the flu. The medical division does preventive work, for example through vaccination programmes and information campaigns. It plays an important role in protecting the people of Zurich.

Communication

The communications division of the Department of Health ensures transparent and reliable communication both inward and outward. It answers media requests, prepares press conferences, compiles content for the publications of the Department of Health, and supports the head of the department when she has public appearances.

Information on current matters is published continuously on the website, in press releases and media conferences, an on the social media channel Twitter.

Marcel Odermatt

Head of communications

marcel.odermatt@gd.zh.ch
+41 43 259 52 29
Stampfenbachstrasse 30, 8090 Zürich

Learn more (german)

Contact

Gesundheitsdirektion

Media contact Show or hide media contact show

Gesundheitsdirektion

Die Bevölkerung im Kanton Zürich kann sich auf ein umfassendes Gesundheitswesen verlassen. Es beinhaltet weit mehr als eine hochwertige Spitalversorgung: Wirksame Heilmittel, gesunde Tiere, einwandfreie Lebensmittel und die Qualitätssicherung von Gebrauchsgegenständen gehören ebenso dazu.

Natalie Rickli

Vorsteherin der Gesundheitsdirektion

Mehr erfahren
Natalie Rickli, Regierungsrätin.

Inhaltsverzeichnis

Über uns

Corona-Pandemie

Wir haben diverse (kantonale) Informationen rund um die Corona-Pandemie zusammengestellt, damit Sie rasch und möglichst ohne Umweg Ihre Antworten finden.

Der Gesundheitszustand der Zürcherinnen und Zürcher ist uns wichtig. Deshalb sorgen unsere rund 450 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter täglich für eine qualitativ hochstehende Gesundheitsversorgung.

Zu unseren Kompetenzen zählen besonders der Bereich Aufsicht und Bewilligungen, die Spitalplanung und -finanzierung, das Tarifwesen, die Prämienverbilligung und nicht zuletzt die Prävention und Gesundheitsförderung.

Geschäftsfeld Gesundheitsversorgung

Das Geschäftsfeld Gesundheitsversorgung stellt die Planung und Steuerung der Gesundheitsversorgung sicher. Es erarbeitet die statistischen und planerischen Grundlagen, kauft die notwendigen Leistungen bei Spitälern und Gesundheitsinstitutionen ein und sorgt für das Leistungs- und Finanzcontrolling.

Geschäftsfeld Medizin

Es besteht aus den Abteilungen Kantonsärztlicher Dienst, Kantonszahnärztlicher Dienst, Gesundheitsberufe & Bewilligungen und Prävention. Hier wird laufend überprüft, ob Angehörige der Gesundheitsberufe und Gesundheitseinrichtungen, ihre Berufspflichten und Aufgaben einwandfrei erfüllen.

Eine besondere Herausforderung sind Epidemien, ausgelöst durch übertragbare Krankheiten wie COVID-19, Masern oder Grippe. Das Geschäftsfeld Medizin ist hier präventiv tätig, beispielsweise mit Impfprogrammen und Informationskampagnen. In diesem Rahmen kommt ihm eine wichtige Rolle im Bevölkerungsschutz zu.

Kommunikation

Die Kommunkationsabteilung der Gesundheitsdirektion stellt eine transparente und zuverlässige Information gegen innen und aussen sicher. Sie beantwortet Medienanfragen, bereitet Medienkonferenzen vor, erstellt Inhalte für die Publikationen der Gesundheitsdirektion und unterstützt die Direktionsvorsteherin kommunikativ bei öffentlichen Auftritten.

Zu aktuellen Themen informiert sie laufend über die Website, Medienmitteilungen, Medienkonferenzen und über den Social-Media-Kanal Twitter.

Marcel Odermatt

Kommunikationsbeauftragter

marcel.odermatt@gd.zh.ch
Stampfenbachstrasse 30, 8090 Zürich

Mehr erfahren

Kontakt

Gesundheitsdirektion

Adresse

Stampfenbachstrasse 30
Postfach
8090 Zürich
Route anzeigen

Telefon

Medienkontakt Medienkontakt ein oder ausblenden anzeigen

Lageplan Gesundheitsdirektion