Family History Research

Are you interested in the history of your family? Depending on how far you wish to go back in time, you will have to contact either the Section for Civil Registry Matters of the Office of Municipalities or the Zurich State Archives.

Table of contents

Your contact

If your ancestors originally came from the Canton of Zurich, your first option is to check the online catalogue of the Zurich State Archives to see whether any duplicates of the birth, marriage or death registers of the Civil Registry Office are available in the State Archives for the requested period of time and whether they are older than 80 years. Please note that the duplicates of the civil status registers kept in the State Archives are not updated and are therefore not legally binding. Legally binding information from registers that are more recent than the time limits stipulated in the current Civil Registry Ordinance (births as of 1900, marriages as of 1930, deaths as of 1960) or information from family registers are exclusively provided by the respective Civil Registry Office.

If you find that the documents you need for your period of time are available in the State Archives, you may continue your research there. Please find more information below.

Office of Municipalities

If you wish to conduct research into your family which goes back less than 80 years, please note the following points.

Obtain your own personal data

As a general rule, extracts, confirmations and certificates are issued to the persons concerned. You may order the documents directly from the respective Civil Registry Office.

Obtain personal data of third parties

If you can prove a direct interest worthy of protection, you may obtain personal data of third parties. This applies if the persons directly concerned cannot obtain the data themselves or if it is unreasonable to expect them to obtain such data.

You may also obtain personal data of other individuals from the Civil Registry Office if you provide a corresponding power of attorney.

Order documents

The following civil status documents can be obtained by the relevant Civil Registry Office:

  • Documents on civil status changes (e.g. birth, death, marriage) are issued by the Civil Registry Office that originally registered the respective event.
  • Certificates on personal and civil status are issued by the Civil Registry Office of the place of origin or, if the person is not a Swiss citizen, by the Civil Registry Office of the place of residence.
  • The Civil Registry Office issues extracts from civil status registers kept in paper form of which there are no duplicates in the State Archives or which contain data not older than 80 years.

Scientific family research & genealogy

Researching persons may obtain personal status data if it is not possible for the persons concerned to obtain such data or if it is unreasonable to expect them to obtain such data. This requires the authorization from the supervisory authority. Furthermore, researchers must assert a scientific interest and must guarantee the protection of the personal data related to the persons concerned.  

  • If you wish to conduct research into your direct family line only (parents, grandparents, great-grandparents, etc.), you may directly contact the Civil Registry Office of either the Canton of Zurich or the Canton of Schwyz, depending on where your place of origin is.
  • If you are also interested in the collateral lines of your family (uncles, aunts, great-uncles, great-aunts, etc.), you will need to request the authorization to obtain personal data for your research. Please use the application form below.
  • If your research does not involve your own family, you will also need to request the authorization to obtain personal data for your research. Please find all the necessary information in the application form below.
  • If your research concerns data that originated more than 80 years ago, you have the option of searching the State Archives. Please find more details below. 

Zurich State Archives

If you are looking for family history data that originated more than 80 years ago, your first option is to check the online catalogue of the Zurich State Archives to see whether any duplicates of the birth, marriage or death registers of the Civil Registry Office are available in the State Archives for the requested period of time. Please note that the duplicates of the civil status registers kept in the State Archives are not updated and are therefore not legally binding. Legally binding information from registers that are more recent than the time limits stipulated in the current Civil Registry Ordinance (births as of 1900, marriages as of 1930, deaths as of 1960) or information from family registers are exclusively provided by the respective Civil Registry Office.

With regard to family history research going back to 1876 or earlier, the so-called church or parish registers are of central importance. They contain records of baptisms, marriages and deaths, and were kept by the responsible parish priest. They are the forerunners of today's civil status registers.

The State Archives centrally store the parish registers dating back to the Reformation up to 1876, when the Confederate Law on Civil Registers came into effect and the Civil Registry Offices were established in the municipalities. In addition to the parish registers, the State Archives also contain the so-called »Haushaltungsrodel” (family books kept by the parish priest) and family registers. Zurich and Winterthur are the only two cities that keep older civil status documents in their respective city archives.

Picture of the genealogical tree of the Bluntschli family
Genealogical table of the von Friedrich Bluntschli family, 1899 (StAZH Db B 50 RP)

Marriages from 16th to 18th century

The database contains a standardized short form of all marriages recorded in the surviving parish registers of the parishes of today's Canton of Zurich from the Reformation until 1800.

Census records as of 1633/34

Census records are a further source of great value to family history research. These records exist for numerous Zurich parishes, dating from 1633/34 until well into the 18th century.

How to conduct family research in the State Archives

  1. Is the requested data available in the State Archives?

    Check the online catalogue of the State Archives to see whether the duplicates of the civil status registers of the municipality you are looking for are available and whether they concern data that originated more than 80 years ago. If this is the case, you are welcome to visit the State Archives. If not, please contact the respective Civil Registry Office.

  2. Visit the State Archives

    If you have notice of a specific date of birth, marriage or death that occurred before 1876, you may directly access the parish records on microfilm. You are welcome to examine them on your own and without prior notice. If you are looking for more recent data, you are welcome to have the corresponding duplicates of the civil status registers brought to the reading room.

  3. Our staff will help you

    Please do not hesitate to ask our staff for help when you get started with your family research. Any further research, however, will rest with you.

  4. Specialized literature may help

    For comprehensive instructions in the field of family history research in the Canton of Zurich, please refer to the following book (available in German only):

    Mario von Moos, Familiengeschichtliche Forschungen im Kanton Zürich. Ein Wegweiser zu den Quellen, Uster 1988 (Arbeitshilfe für Familienforscher in der Schweiz Nr. 4, hg. von der Schweizerischen Gesellschaft für Familienforschung)

    The book is available for purchase at the State Archives (CHF 15).

  5. Mandate a genealogist

    If you do not wish to conduct the research yourself, you may mandate a professional genealogist to do the research. Please contact the State Archives for recommendations and addresses.

Surnames

Family crests

The State Archives provide comprehensive records on family crests.

This documentation contains references to family crests related to the Canton of Zurich that are mentioned or depicted in publications. It also refers to family crests kept in collections of the State Archives. The focus is on crests of families from the former rural areas of Zurich.

Use the accordion controls to toggle the visibility of each panel (below the controls).

The family crest records contain information about specific family crests mentioned in literature and in the following crest collections kept by the State Archives:

  • Monumenta Heraldica Turicensia (initiated in 1930, constantly updated) (in German)
  • Crest collection by Friedrich Hegi (StAZH W I 38), generated in about 1920, mostly contains family crests depicted on buildings or stove tiles (watercolours by Walter Naef-Bouvin) (in German)
  • Crest index by Hans Kläui (StAZH W I 80.90 -W I 80.96), generated between 1948 and 1992, incl. numerous crest adaptations and new creations for families from the rural areas of Zurich (in German)
  • Register of shapes and objects depicted in crests of families from the city and the rural areas of Zurich, by Julius Müller (»Figurenregister der Wappen Zürcherischer Geschlechter von Stadt und Landschaft”, original kept in the National Museum Zurich, Hc 104; reproduction kept in the State Archives; register: StAZH Bib. Ek 363 RP) (in German)

The cities of Zurich and Winterthur have both developed a rich heraldic tradition since the late Middle Ages. The crests of old-established families have been published in crest books since those early days. The family crest records contain information related to the following crest publications:

Only a selection of further crests of old-established families with citizenship of the cities of Winterthur and Zurich were included. As a rule, the crests of noble families of the late Middle Ages were not incorporated.

The family crest records refer to the Canton of Zurich. They generally contain crests of families who hold or held citizenship of a Zurich municipality, both of old-established families and new citizens. An exception to this rule is Hans Kläui’s crest index, which also includes crests of families of other cantons and was incorporated in the records in its entirety.

The use of a family crest is a private matter. The State Archives can only provide evidence of a family crest if it was made public. Therefore, the family crest records will never be complete. However, they are constantly amended and updated.

Passports issued 1848–1870 (to America and Australia)

Passport records constitute an important source for the tracing of emigrant flows. The records of travel passports issued by the Cantonal Chancellery are kept in the State Archives. Between 1848 and 1870, these records reveal numerous names of travellers to overseas countries, mainly to America. Most of these travellers were probably emigrants.

Contact

Staatsarchiv More information

Address

Winterthurerstrasse 170
8057 Zürich
Show route

Für dieses Thema zuständig:

Familienforschung

Sie interessieren sich für die Geschichte Ihrer Familie? Je nachdem, wie weit Ihre Forschungen zurückreichen sollen, müssen Sie sich dafür an die Abteilung Zivilstandswesen im Gemeindeamt oder an das Staatsarchiv wenden.

Inhaltsverzeichnis

Ihre Anlaufstellen

Stammen Ihre Vorfahren aus dem Kanton Zürich, können Sie zunächst im Online-Archivkatalog des Staatsarchivs prüfen, ob die Doppel der Geburts-, Ehe- oder Totenregister des Zivilstandsamtes im Staatsarchiv für Ihren Zeitraum vorhanden und älter als 80 Jahre sind. Dabei ist zu beachten, dass die Doppel der Zivilstandsregister im Staatsarchiv nicht nachgeführt und darum auch nicht rechtsverbindlich sind. Rechtsverbindliche Auskünfte aus Registern, die jünger als die in der geltenden Zivilstandsverordnung festgelegten Zeitgrenzen sind (Geburten nach 1900, Ehen nach 1930, Tod nach 1960) oder Auskünfte aus Familienregistern erteilt weiterhin ausschliesslich das zuständige Zivilstandsamt.

Stellen Sie fest, dass die für Ihren Zeitraum benötigten Unterlagen im Staatsarchiv vorhanden sind, können Sie Ihre Recherchen dort fortsetzen. Mehr dazu finden Sie im unteren Teil dieser Seite. 

Das Gemeindeamt

Die folgenden Punkte müssen Sie beachten, wenn Sie Forschungen zu Ihrer Familie anstellen wollen, die weniger als 80 Jahre zurückliegen.

Auskunft über eigene Personendaten

Grundsätzlich werden Auszüge, Bestätigungen und Bescheinigungen an die betroffenen Personen abgegeben. Dafür können Sie Dokumente direkt beim Zivilstandsamt bestellen.

Auskunft über Personendaten Dritter

Privatpersonen, die ein unmittelbares und schutzwürdiges Interesse nachweisen, können die Personenstandsdaten von Dritten erhalten. Dies gilt sofern die direkt betroffenen Personen die Daten nicht selbst beschaffen können oder die Beschaffung für sie nicht zumutbar ist.

Dritte können Personendaten anderer ausserdem mit einer entsprechenden Vollmacht beim Zivilstandsamt erhalten.

Bestellung von Dokumenten

Folgende Zivilstandsurkunden können Sie auf Bestellung beim zuständigen Zivilstandsamt erhalten:

  • Urkunden über Zivilstandsereignisse (z. B. Geburt, Tod und Eheschliessung) werden vom Zivilstandsamt ausgestellt, das den Vorgang beurkundet hat.
  • Ausweise über den Personenstand und den Familienstand stellt das Zivilstandsamt des Heimatortes oder, falls die Person das Schweizer Bürgerrecht nicht besitzt, das Zivilstandsamt des Wohnsitzes aus.
  • Auszüge aus den in Papierform geführten Zivilstandsregistern, von denen es kein Doppel im Staatsarchiv gibt oder Daten enthalten, die vor weniger als 80 Jahren entstanden sind, erstellt das Zivilstandsamt.

Wissenschaftliche Familienforschung & Genealogie

Forschende können Personenstandsdaten erhalten, wenn deren Beschaffung den betroffenen Personen nicht möglich oder offensichtlich nicht zumutbar ist. Dafür ist eine Bewilligung der Aufsichtsbehörde nötig. Forschende müssen zudem ein wissenschaftliches Interesse geltend machen und den Schutz der Personendaten der betroffenen Personen garantieren.  

  • Falls Sie nur in Ihrer geraden Linie (Eltern, Grosseltern, Urgrosseltern usw.) forschen möchten, können Sie sich direkt an das zürcherische oder schweizerische Zivilstandsamt vom betroffenen Heimatort wenden.
  • Falls Sie auch die Seitenlinien (Onkel, Tanten, Grossonkel, Grosstanten usw.) von Ihrer Familie interessieren, benötigen Sie für die Forschung eine Bewilligung zur Bekanntgabe von Personendaten. Benutzen Sie dafür das unten stehende Gesuchsformular.
  • Falls Ihre Forschung nicht Ihre eigene Familie betrifft, benötigen Sie für die Forschung auch eine Bewilligung zur Bekanntgabe von Personendaten. Alle weiteren Informationen dazu finden Sie im Gesuchsformular. 
  • Falls Ihre Forschung Daten betrifft, die vor mehr als 80 Jahren entstanden sind, haben Sie die Möglichkeit, im Staatsarchiv zu recherchieren. Näheres dazu im unteren Teil dieser Seite. 

Das Staatsarchiv

Falls Sie familiengeschichtliche Daten suchen, die vor mehr als 80 Jahren entstanden sind, können Sie zunächst im Online-Archivkatalog des Staatsarchivs prüfen, ob die Doppel der Geburts-, Ehe- oder Totenregister des Zivilstandsamtes im Staatsarchiv für Ihren Zeitraum vorhanden sind. Dabei ist zu beachten, dass die Doppel der Zivilstandsregister im Staatsarchiv nicht nachgeführt und darum auch nicht rechtsverbindlich sind. Rechtsverbindliche Auskünfte aus Registern, die jünger als die in der geltenden Zivilstandsverordnung festgelegten Zeitgrenzen sind (Geburten nach 1900, Ehen nach 1930, Tod nach 1960) oder Auskünfte aus Familienregistern, erteilt weiterhin ausschliesslich das zuständige Zivilstandsamt. 

Für familiengeschichtliche Recherchen in der Zeit vor 1876 sind die sogenannten Kirchen- oder Pfarrbücher von zentraler Bedeutung. Dabei handelt es sich um die vom zuständigen Pfarrer geführten Tauf-, Ehe- und Totenbücher der Kirchgemeinden, die Vorläufer der heutigen Zivilstandsregister.
Das Staatsarchiv ist das zentrale Archiv für die Kirchenbücher aus der Zeit von der Reformation bis zum Inkrafttreten des eidgenössischen Zivilstandsgesetzes und der Einrichtung von Zivilstandsämtern in den Gemeinden im Jahr 1876. Neben den Kirchenbüchern finden Sie im Staatsarchiv auch Haushaltungsrodel und Familienregister. Nur die beiden Städte Zürich und Winterthur bewahren ihre älteren Zivilstandsunterlagen selbst im jeweiligen Stadtarchiv auf.

Bild des Stammbaums Bluntschli
Stammtafel der Familie von Friedrich Bluntschli, 1899 (StAZH Db B 50 RP)

Ehen des 16. bis 18. Jahrhunderts

Die Datensammlung enthält in standardisierter Kurzform alle Eheeinträge, die in den überlieferten Kirchenbüchern der Kirchgemeinden des heutigen Kantons Zürich von der Reformation bis zum Jahr 1800 verzeichnet sind.

Bevölkerungsverzeichnisse ab 1633/34

Eine weitere familiengeschichtliche Quelle von grossem Wert sind die Bevölkerungsverzeichnisse, die von 1633/34 bis tief ins 18. Jahrhundert für viele Zürcher Kirchgemeinden überliefert sind.

Anleitung zur Familienforschung im Staatsarchiv

  1. Sind die gewünschten Daten im Staatsarchiv vorhanden?

    Prüfen Sie im Online-Archivkatalog des Staatsarchivs, ob die Doppel der Zivilstandsregister für die von Ihnen gesuchte Gemeinde vorhanden sind und Daten betreffen, die vor mehr als 80 Jahren entstanden. Ist dies der Fall, können Sie gerne ins Staatsarchiv kommen. Trifft dies nicht zu, wenden Sie sich bitte an das zuständige Zivilstandsamt.

  2. Besuch im Staatsarchiv

    Besitzen Sie bereits ein Geburts-, Ehe- oder Todesdatum, das vor 1876 liegt, können Sie direkt bei den Kirchenbüchern auf Mikrofilm einsteigen, die Sie in Selbstbedienung und ohne Voranmeldung durchsehen können. Brauchen Sie zunächst jüngere Daten, bestellen Sie die entsprechenden Doppel der Zivilstandsregister in den Lesesaal.

  3. Unser Personal unterstützt Sie

    Beim Einstieg in die Familienforschung unterstützt Sie unser Personal, die weiteren Recherchen müssen Sie aber selber vornehmen.

  4. Fachliteratur kann helfen

    Eine ausführliche Anleitung zur Familiengeschichtsforschung im Kanton Zürich finden Sie in:

    Mario von Moos, Familiengeschichtliche Forschungen im Kanton Zürich. Ein Wegweiser zu den Quellen, Uster 1988 (Arbeitshilfe für Familienforscher in der Schweiz Nr. 4, hg. von der Schweizerischen Gesellschaft für Familienforschung)

    Das Werk kann im Staatsarchiv erworben werden (CHF 15).

  5. Genealogen beauftragen

    Falls Sie die Recherchen nicht selber vornehmen wollen, können Sie eine professionelle Genealogin oder einen professionellen Genealogen mit der Recherche beauftragen. Für Empfehlungen und Adressen melden Sie sich beim Staatsarchiv.

Familiennamen

Familienwappen

Für Auskünfte über Familienwappen hat das Staatsarchiv eine umfangreiche Nachweisdatei aufgebaut.

Die Dokumentation enthält Hinweise auf Familienwappen mit Bezug zum Kanton Zürich, die in Publikationen erwähnt oder abgebildet sind, und auf Familienwappen in Sammlungen, die im Staatsarchiv aufbewahrt werden. Der Fokus liegt auf Wappen von Familien der ehemaligen Zürcher Landschaft.

Verwenden Sie die Akkordeon-Bedienelemente, um die Sichtbarkeit der jeweiligen Panels (unterhalb der Bedienelemente) umzuschalten.

Die Nachweisdatei enthält Hinweise auf Informationen zu einem bestimmten Familienwappen in der Literatur und in den folgenden, im Staatsarchiv aufbewahrten Wappensammlungen:

  • Monumenta Heraldica Turicensia (1930 begonnen, wird immer noch ergänzt)
  • Wappensammlung von Friedrich Hegi (StAZH W I 38), angelegt um 1920, enthält vor allem Familienwappen an Gebäuden und auf Ofenkacheln (Aquarelle von Walter Naef-Bouvin)
  • Wappenkartei von Hans Kläui (StAZH W I 80.90 – W I 80.96), angelegt zwischen 1948 und 1992, mit vielen Wappenbearbeitungen und Neuschöpfungen für Familien der Zürcher Landschaft
  • «Figurenregister der Wappen Zürcherischer Geschlechter von Stadt und Landschaft», erstellt von Julius Müller (Original im Schweizerischen Landesmuseum, Hc 104; Reproduktion im Staatsarchiv; Register: StAZH Bib. Ek 363 RP)

Die Städte Zürich und Winterthur kennen eine reiche heraldische Tradition seit dem Spätmittelalter. Die Wappen der alten Bürgerfamilien wurden schon früh in Wappenbüchern publiziert. In die Nachweisdatei sind die Informationen aus folgenden Wappenpublikationen eingearbeitet:

Weitere Wappenbelege zu alten Bürgerfamilien der Städte Winterthur und Zürich wurden nur in Auswahl aufgenommen. Auf die Aufnahme von spätmittelalterlichen Adelswappen wurde in der Regel verzichtet.

Die Nachweisdatei bezieht sich auf den Kanton Zürich. Sie enthält grundsätzlich Wappen von Familien, die in einer Zürcher Gemeinde das Bürgerrecht besitzen oder besassen, von altverbürgerten Familien und von Neubürgern. Von der Regel abgewichen wird bei der Wappenkartei von Hans Kläui, die auch Wappen von Familien aus anderen Kantonen enthält und integral in die Nachweisdatei übernommen wurde.

Das Führen eines Familienwappens ist eine Privatangelegenheit. Das Staatsarchiv kann nur Familienwappen nachweisen, die öffentlich bekannt geworden sind. Die Nachweisdatei kann deshalb nie vollständig sein. Sie wird kontinuierlich ergänzt und aktualisiert.

Passerteilungen nach Amerika & Australien von 1848 bis 1870

Passkontrollen sind eine wichtige Quelle für die Ermittlung von Auswanderinnen und Auswanderern. Die im Staatsarchiv aufbewahrten Kontrollen über die von der Staatskanzlei ausgestellten Auslandspässe enthalten in den Jahren 1848 bis 1870 besonders viele Namen von Reisenden nach Übersee, hauptsächlich nach Amerika. In den meisten Fällen dürfte es sich um Auswanderinnen und Auswanderern handeln.

Kontakt

Staatsarchiv Mehr erfahren

Adresse

Winterthurerstrasse 170
8057 Zürich
Route anzeigen

Für dieses Thema zuständig: