Safe

Polizeifahrzeug mit Triopan Polizei

Our offices are in charge of and ensure public safety. That is one of the state’s primary duties. Without safety, there is no freedom and no prosperity – we need safety for everyone.

Table of contents

Committed to safety

Presence and intervention, managing and handling events, prevention, and inspections all contribute to objective and also subjective safety in the Canton of Zurich. The people of Zurich must be safe and feel safe. We do everything we can to make sure that is the case.

Cantonal Police Force

The main duties of the police are to fend off threats to our public safety and order and to remove disturbances. This particularly includes efforts to prevent criminal actions, increase road safety and prevent traffic accidents. The Cantonal Police Force, being Switzerland’s largest police corps, always aspires to be at the forefront of all areas of its work on a national level, which is why everyone in the police force always gives their best. Not because they expect to receive an award in the end, but because the results of their efforts directly benefit the people of Zurich.

Office for Military Affairs and Civil Defence

The OMACD administers the regulations of the Federal Law concerning Military Administration, civil protection, and the military service exemption tax.

Military Administration

The first and last contact with the army that the public has is with the cantonal Military Administration:

  • It coordinates the military service and ascertains the mandatory target practice of the servicemen.
  • It informs all Swiss citizens about its services when they turn 16, organizes events for those with a duty to enlist and discharges members of the armed forces after having fulfilled their military duties.

Civil Protection Organization:

The Civil Protection Organization fulfils an important purpose in and for our country. Catastrophes and emergencies, such as a flood or a pandemic, could occur at any time. The Civil Protection Organization helps manage these kinds of events in the Canton of Zurich and the rest of Switzerland.

Road Traffic Office

The Road Traffic Office makes sure that the vehicles and boats that are circulating or waiting to be registered are roadworthy and safe to operate. It carries out the theoretical and practical driving tests and the necessary medical examinations and enforces measures (warnings, reprimands, revocations and suspensions of driver’s licences, road safety classes, etc.),

This making an important contribution to keeping the roads in the Canton of Zurich safe.

Contact

Sicherheitsdirektion More information

Address

Postfach
Neumühlequai 10
8090 Zürich
Show route

ch.zh.web.internet.core.components.contact.locationmap Sicherheitsdirektion

Sicher

Polizeifahrzeug mit Triopan Polizei

Unsere Ämter sorgen für die öffentliche Sicherheit. Das ist eine zentrale Grundaufgabe des Staates. Ohne Sicherheit gibt es keine Freiheit und keinen Wohlstand – Eine unteilbare Sicherheit für alle.

Inhaltsverzeichnis

Alles für die Sicherheit

Präsenz und Intervention, Prävention, Prüfung und Kontrolle sowie Bewältigung von Ereignissen tragen nicht nur objektiv, sondern auch subjektiv zur Sicherheit in unserem Kanton bei. Unsere Bevölkerung soll sicher sein und sich sicher fühlen. Wir unternehmen alles dafür, damit wir ihr das gewährleisten können. 

Kantonspolizei

Die Kernaufgaben der Polizei sind, Gefahren für die öffentliche Sicherheit und Ordnung abzuwehren und Störungen zu beseitigen. Dazu gehören insbesondere die Verhütung strafbarer Handlungen, die Erhöhung der Verkehrssicherheit und die Verhütung von Unfällen im Strassenverkehr. Die Kantonspolizei als grösstes Polizeikorps der Schweiz hat stets den Anspruch, in allen Tätigkeitsbereichen die Führungsrolle in unserem Land anzustreben. Alle ihre Einsatzkräfte wissen das und geben Tag für Tag das Beste. Nicht weil das am Schluss eine Auszeichnung für sie selber bedeutet, sondern weil das Resultat des Einsatzes schliesslich direkt den Zürcherinnen und Zürchern zu Gute kommt.

Amt für Militär und Zivilschutz

Das AMZ vollzieht die bundesrechtlichen Vorschriften in den Bereichen Militärverwaltung, Zivilschutz und Wehrpflichtersatz.

Militärverwaltung:

Den ersten und letzten Kontakt mit der Armee haben die
Bürgerinnen und Bürger mit der Militärverwaltung des Kantons:

  • Sie verschiebt Dienste, überprüft die obligatorischen Schiesspflicht der Armeeangehörigen.
  • Sie informiert alle Schweizerinnen und Schweizer im 16. Altersjahr über die Dienstleistungen, führt für alle Stellungspflichtige Orientierungstage durch und verabschiedet die Armeeangehörigen nach erfüllter Dienstpflicht aus dem Militär.

Zivilschutz:

Der Zivilschutz erfüllt in unserem Land eine wichtige Aufgabe. Katastrophen und Notlagen, wie beispielsweise eine Überschwemmung oder eine Pandemie, können sich jederzeit ereignen. Der Zivilschutz hilft mit, solche Ereignisse im Kanton Zürich, aber auch schweizweit zu bewältigen.

Strassenverkehrsamt

Das Strassenverkehrsamt überprüft die Betriebssicherheit der im Verkehr stehenden oder neu zuzulassenden Fahrzeuge und Schiffe. Es führt die theoretischen und praktischen Führerprüfungen, die verkehrs-medizinischen Kontrollen und das Massnahmerecht (Verwarnungen, Führerausweisentzüge, Fahrverbote, Verkehrsunterricht usw.) durch.

Damit leistet das Strassenverkehrsamt einen wichtigen
Beitrag zur Verkehrssicherheit im Kanton Zürich.

Kontakt

Sicherheitsdirektion Mehr erfahren

Adresse

Postfach
Neumühlequai 10
8090 Zürich
Route anzeigen

E-Mail