Taxes

The objective of the Department of Finance is a taxation of the population and the economy that is as moderate as possible. This further increases the attractiveness of the Canton of Zurich as a place to live and work. It also includes a simple, easily understandable process when it comes to filling in the tax declaration.

Objective of the legislature

«Cantons and municipalities persist in the existing tax competition. The taxes take into account the principle of solidarity, upholding the taxpayers’ willingness to contribute.»

Government Council of the Canton of Zurich, objectives of the 2019–2023 legislature

Strengthen our resource potential

The Canton of Zurich offers high-quality business locations and a stable, reliable resource potential.

A targeted tax strategy is devised in order to maintain the tax base and make the canton even more attractive for innovative legal entities and natural persons.

Moderate tax burden

The Department of Finance has the tax burden assessed regularly. The Steuerbelastungsmonitor (tax burden monitor), published annually, ensures transparency and shows the position of the Canton of Zurich regarding taxes compared to the other cantons.

In the Canton of Zurich, taxation on income is below the national average. Taxation of the middle class especially is significantly more moderate than in a majority of the other cantons.

Tax Proposal 17

The Federal Act on Tax Reform (Tax Proposal 17) poses a considerable fiscal challenge for the Canton of Zurich. The Government Council devised a set of measures for its implementation. It is a competitive solution for the canton, its economy, the cities and municipalities, our jobs, and the population.

Remaining competitive

On September 1st, 2019, the electorate voted yes on the set of measures with a majority of 55,59 percent. This means that the Canton of Zurich will utilize all the instruments that the Federal Government provides for the cantons.

These include an increased deduction for research and development expenses. And thanks to deduction for self-financing, the finance companies that are important for the Canton of Zurich will stay here. Additionally, the profit tax rate is moderately reduced for all companies.

The Head of the Department of Finance has come to an agreement with the cities, the municipalities, and the churches as to how they will be recompensed by the canton for the loss of income. One requirement is that the loss of income be compensated by means of our normal budget planning and not by raising the cantonal tax multiplier.

Contact

Finanzdirektion More information

Address

Postfach
Walcheplatz 1
8090 Zürich
Show route

Media contact Show or hide media contact show

Steuern

Ziel der Finanzdirektion ist eine möglichst moderate Besteuerung der Bevölkerung und der Wirtschaft. Das stärkt den Kanton Zürich als attraktiven Wohn- und Arbeitsstandort. Dazu gehört auch ein einfacher, bürgernaher Prozess beim Ausfüllen der Steuererklärung.

Inhaltsverzeichnis

Legislaturziel

 

«Kanton und Gemeinden können im Steuerwettbewerb bestehen. Die Steuern erhalten unter Berücksichtigung der Solidarität den Leistungswillen der Pflichtigen.»

Regierungsrat des Kantons Zürich, Legislaturziele 2019–2023

Ressourcenpotenzial stärken

Der Kanton Zürich verfügt über hohe Standortqualitäten und ein solides Ressourcenpotenzial.

Mit einer gezielten Steuerstrategie soll die Anziehungskraft des Kantons für innovative juristische und natürliche Personen verstärkt und das Steuersubstrat erhalten werden.

Moderate Steuerbelastung

Die Finanzdirektion lässt die Steuerbelastung regelmässig überprüfen. Der jährlich herausgegebene Steuerbelastungsmonitor schafft diese Transparenz und weist aus, wo der Kanton Zürich steuerlich landesweit steht.

Das Einkommen wird im Kanton Zürich im nationalen Vergleich nur unterdurchschnittlich besteuert. Besonders für den Mittelstand ist die Besteuerung deutlich moderater als im Grossteil der anderen Kantone.

Steuervorlage 17

Die Unternehmenssteuerreform (Steuervorlage 17) des Bundes ist für den Kanton Zürich eine grosse finanzpolitische Herausforderung. Der Regierungsrat hat ein Paket mit Massnahmen geschnürt. Es stellt eine für den Kanton, seine Wirtschaft, die Städte und Gemeinden sowie für die Bevölkerung und die Arbeitsplätze konkurrenzfähige Lösung dar.

Konkurrenzfähigkeit erhalten

Das Stimmvolk hat dem Paket am 1. September 2019 mit einem Ja-Anteil von 55,95 Prozent zugestimmt. Das heisst: Der Kanton Zürich wird alle Instrumente anwenden, welche der Bund den Kantonen zur Verfügung stellt.

Dazu gehören ein erhöhter Abzug für den Forschungsaufwand. Und mit einem Eigenfinanzierungsabzug werden die für den Kanton Zürich wichtigen Finanzierungsgesellschaften am Ort gehalten. Hinzu kommt eine moderate Senkung des Gewinnsteuersatzes für alle Unternehmen.

Der Finanzdirektor hat mit den Städten und Gemeinden sowie den Kirchen vereinbart, wie diese für ihre Ertragsausfälle durch den Kanton entschädigt werden. Eine Vorgabe ist auch, dass Ertragsausfälle durch die normale Budgetplanung und nicht durch eine Erhöhung des Staatssteuerfusses aufgefangen werden soll.

Kontakt

Finanzdirektion Mehr erfahren

Adresse

Postfach
Walcheplatz 1
8090 Zürich
Route anzeigen

Medienkontakt Medienkontakt ein oder ausblenden anzeigen