High Tech

Home to top universities and first-rate tech companies, the Zurich economic area figures among the world leaders in future technologies such as artificial intelligence, computer vision, quantum computing and autonomous systems. These and other technologies are embedded in Zurich’s high-tech ecosystem.

Table of contents

Significance

High-tech developments are garnering considerable attention in the Canton of Zurich.

But what is high tech? We understand high tech to mean research-intensive growth industries that make an important contribution to the attractive and sustainable development of our canton through their high innovation and value-added potential. Technologies typically found in high-tech industries range from quantum computing and artificial intelligence to robotics, nanaotechnology and materials engineering.

Due to its cross-sectional nature, high tech has the ability to bring together different areas of technology across industry boundaries and, furthermore, to give rise to new economic sectors. The high-tech ecosystem encompasses industries that create new products, services and applications based on the latest findings from engineering and natural sciences. Engineering technologies such as mechanical engineering, electrical engineering, materials science and computer science play a particularly important role in this regard.

Renowned Companies

In addition to many well-known university spin-offs, e.g. HeiQ Materials, Wigtra, Scewo, ddrobotec and Sevensense Robotics, Zurich is also home to several international high-tech heavyweights: IBM, ABB, Siemens, Mettler-Toledo, Rieter and Sulzer are all based in the Canton of Zurich. Access to a pool of well-qualified and highly talented young engineers is a key enabling factor for sustainable growth of high-tech companies in Zurich.

Academic Foundation and Knowledge Transfer to Industry

Teaching and research of the highest quality at the University of Zurich (UZH), the Swiss Federal Institutes of Technology (ETH) and the Zurich University of Applied Sciences (ZHAW) provide the academic foundation for the successful development of the high-tech industry in the Canton of Zurich. The ground-breaking research results and developments achieved by these academic institutions rank them among the best universities in the world. The Swiss Federal Laboratories for Materials Science and Technology (Empa) acts as an important link between basic and applied research. Together with Technopark Zurich and Switzerland Innovation Park Zurich, Empa ensures that research lab results and findings are transferred successfully to the production and development departments of industrial companies.

Publications

(Only in German)

Activities

We support the devising of content of Switzerland Innovation Park Zurich. Already synonymous with the development of high-tech applications, the Dübendorf-based Innovation Park will play an even greater role as a space for innovation in the years to come. The aim is for start-ups and research divisions of established companies to drive forward developments in the high-tech arena.

As an active member of the Swiss Association for Autonomous Mobility (SAAM), we contribute to facilitating the development and execution of new and cutting-edge mobility solutions, on the ground and in the air.

More generally, we provide valuable input for the development of an innovation ecosystem in which high-tech stakeholders can connect and take advantage of synergies.
 

Events

Innovatica (11.06.2022, not yet advertised)


Key Players

Associations

Innovation Spaces

Contact Partner

Markus Müller

Project Manager High Tech

markus.mueller@vd.zh.ch
+41 43 259 46 97

Contact

Office for Economy and Labour – Business and Economic Development Division

Address

Walchestrasse 19
8090 Zürich
Route (Google)

Phone

+41 43 259 49 92


Monday to Friday
8 a.m. to 12 a.m.
1.30 p.m. to 5 p.m.

Hightech

Der Wirtschaftsraum Zürich gehört in den Zukunftstechnologien Künstliche Intelligenz, Computer Vision, Quantencomputing und autonome Systeme mit seinen Hochschulen und Technologieunternehmen zur Weltspitze. Diese und noch weitere Technologien findet man in Zürichs Hightech-Ökosystem.

Inhaltsverzeichnis

Bedeutung

Im Kanton Zürich erlangen Entwicklungen in den Hightech-Themen grosse Aufmerksamkeit.

Doch was ist Hightech überhaupt? Unter Hightech verstehen wir die forschungsintensiven Wachstumsbranchen, die durch ihr hohes Wertschöpfungs- und Innovationspotenzial einen wichtigen Beitrag an die attraktive und nachhaltige Entwicklung unseres Kantons leisten. Technologien, die typischerweise in den Hightech-Branchen Anwendung finden, reichen von Quantencomputing und Künstliche Intelligenz über die Robotik bis hin zur Nanaotechnologie und Materialtechnik.

Hightech hat aufgrund seines Querschnittcharakters die Fähigkeit unterschiedliche Technologiebereiche über Branchengrenzen hinweg zu vernetzen und neue Wirtschaftszweige entstehen zu lassen. Zum Hightech-Ökosystem zählen Branchen, die neue Produkte, Dienstleistungen und Anwendungen basierend auf den neusten Erkenntnissen aus den Ingenieur- und Naturwissenschaften hervorbringen. Ingenieurwissenschaften wie Maschinenbau, Elektrotechnik, Materialwissenschaften und Informatik spielen dabei eine besonders wichtige Rolle.

Namhafte Unternehmen

Neben vielen namhaften Spin-offs der Hochschulen, wie zum Beispiel HeiQ Materials, Wigtra, Scewo, ddrobotec und Sevensense Robotics, sind auch internationale Schwergewichte am Standort Zürich im Bereich Hightech vertreten: IBM, ABB, Siemens, Mettler-Toledo, Rieter und Sulzer haben ihren Sitz im Kanton Zürich. Der Nachwuchs von gut ausgebildeten und talentierten Ingenieurinnen und Ingenieuren ist ein wichtiger Garant der ein nachhaltiges Wachstum der ansässigen Firmen ermöglicht.

Akademische Basis und Transfer in die Industrie

Die akademische Basis für die erfolgreiche Entwicklung der Hightech Branche im Kanton Zürich wird durch die exzellente Forschung und Lehre der Universität Zürich (UZH), der Eidgenössischen Technischen Hochschulen (ETH) und der Zürcher Hochschule für Angewandte Wissenschaften (ZHAW) gelegt. Mit ihren bahnbrechenden Forschungsergebnissen und Entwicklungen gehören sie zu den weltweit besten Universitäten und Hochschulen. Die Eidgenössische Material- und Prüfanstalt (EMPA) agiert als wichtiges Bindeglied zwischen der Grundlagen- und der angewandten Forschung. Sie sorgt zusammen mit dem Technopark Zürich und dem Innovationspark Zürich für den erfolgreichen Transfer der Resultate aus den Forschungslabors in die Entwicklungs- und Produktionsabteilungen der Industriefirmen.

Publikationen

Aktivitäten

Wir unterstützen die inhaltliche Entwicklung des Innovationsparks Zürich. Der Innovationspark in Dübendorf steht bereits heute für die Entwicklung von Hightech-Anwendungen und wird in Zukunft noch eine viel bedeutendere Rolle als Innovationsraum einnehmen. Startups und Forschungsabteilungen etablierter Firmen sollen im Innovationspark Entwicklung im Hightech-Bereich vorantreiben können.

Als aktives Mitglied in der Swiss Association for Autonomous Mobility (SAAM) tragen wir dazu bei, dass sich neue und moderne Mobilitätslösungen am Boden und in der Luft entwickeln und umgesetzt werden können.

Ganz allgemein liefern wir wertvolle Beiträge zur Entwicklung eines Innovations-Ökosystems, in welchem sich die Akteure im Hightech-Bereich vernetzen und Synergien nutzen können.

Veranstaltungen


Wichtige Akteure

Vereine

Innovationsräume

Ansprechpartner

Markus Müller

Projektleiter Hightech

markus.mueller@vd.zh.ch
+41 43 259 46 97

Kontakt

Amt für Wirtschaft und Arbeit – Standortförderung

Adresse

Walchestrasse 19
8090 Zürich
Route (Google)

Telefon

+41 43 259 49 92


Montag bis Freitag
8.00 bis 12.00 Uhr und
13.30 bis 17.00 Uhr