Nationals of EU-27 / EFTA States

Nationals of EU-27 Member States and EFTA States are entitled to full freedom of movement. Full freedom of movement is specifically granted to nationals of the following countries:

Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, The Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Sweden, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain and United Kingdom.

Registration and submitting an application for a residence permit to the local municipality's residents registration office have to take place in every case before work commences. The following documents are required: valid travel documents (passport or identification card), the employment contract or confirmation of employment. For further information about entering the country and residence, please contact the Migration Office of the Canton of Zurich (also applies to cross-border workers).

Details about limited periods of residence of up to 90 days per calendar year for employment purposes and for cross-border services can be found at:

More on the topic