Life Sciences

The Zurich economic area boasts an extraordinary concentration of companies and organisations in the life sciences sector. The Division of Business and Economic Development actively promotes networking among these organisations through the «Life Science Zurich Business Network» and by way of collaboration with «Life Science Zurich».

Table of contents

Significance

In recent years, Zurich has evolved into a dynamically expanding centre for the life sciences industry. The term ›life sciences’ refers to the application of scientific findings of modern biochemistry, medicine, biophysics, molecular biology, bioinformatics, medical technology and other fields. Therefore, from a business perspective, companies working in the following branches of industry belong to the life sciences cluster: pharmaceutics, biotechnology, medical technology and control devices, wholesale with medical products as well as research and laboratories. 

Broad Academic Base

Extensive basic research and applied research are two key prerequisites for a thriving life sciences industry. Thus, development and production in the life sciences cluster have the benefit of Zurich’s broad academic base, including the Swiss Federal Institute in Zurich (ETHZ), the University of Zurich (UZH), the university hospitals, other clinics and the Zurich University of Applied Sciences (ZHAW).

The conversion of research knowledge into marketable products (»from bench to bedside”) is supported by various initiatives in the field of translational medicine, e.g. Wyss Zurich, which is a joint initiative of ETHZ and UZH.  Spin-off activities stemming from the universities are contributing decisively to the growing momentum of the life sciences cluster, some of which have chosen BIO-TECHNOPARK® Schlieren as their business location.

Well-known Representatives of Life Sciences

As well as a large number of small and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs), many internationally known companies have chosen Zurich as their business location. A case in point is Roche, whose Roche Innovation Center is in Schlieren-Zurich. The result is a broad mix of scientific excellence, innovative spin-offs, well-established SMEs and well-known large companies. Thanks to its strong ICT cluster, Zurich is also well on track in the digital health domain.

Innovative Strength in BIO-TECHNOPARK® Schlieren-Zurich

Video featuring Mario Jenni, CEO Bio-Technopark Schlieren-Zurich, speaking about the innovative strength at the life sciences hotspot that is Zurich. Video featuring Mario Jenni, CEO Bio-Technopark Schlieren-Zurich, speaking about the innovative strength at the life sciences hotspot that is Zurich.

Activities

Life Science Zurich Business Network

The life sciences cluster in the Zurich economic area boasts an extraordinary concentration of companies and organisations. The »Life Science Zurich Business Network” was established with the objective of creating a strong network and a single point of contact for Zurich-based stakeholders from business, academia, administration and politics.

Life Science Zurich (LSZ)

Numerous other stakeholders collaborate closely under the umbrella brand »Life Science Zurich (LSZ)” and jointly coordinate activities/committees as follows:

  • Business network as a single point of contact to ensure a coordinated approach to cooperation between industry, academia and research, as well as with the public sector
  • Scientific programmes and centres of excellence
  • Postgraduate education (LSZ Graduate School)
  • Management of interfacing with Matura schools (LSZ Learning Center)
  • Network connecting university students with industry (LSZ Young Scientist Network)
  • Communications (LSZ Communication & Events)

Contact Partners

Danielle Spichiger

Project Manager Life Sciences Canton of Zurich

danielle.spichiger@vd.zh.ch
+41 43 259 49 86

Mario Jenni

CEO BIO-TECHNOPARK® Schlieren-Zürich

mario.jenni@bio-technopark.ch
+41 44 730 83 29

Dr. Silvie Cuperus

Head Communication & Events, Life Science Zurich

info@lifescience.uzh.ch
+41 44 635 35 01

Contact

Office for Economy and Labour – Business and Economic Development Division

Address

Walchestrasse 19
8090 Zürich
Show route

Phone

+41 43 259 49 92


Monday to Friday
8 a.m. to 12 a.m.
1.30 p.m. to 5 p.m.

Für dieses Thema zuständig:

Life Sciences

Der Wirtschaftsraum Zürich weist auch im Bereich der Life Sciences eine ausserordentliche Dichte an Unternehmen und Organisationen aus. Die Standortförderung fördert deren Vernetzung aktiv durch das «Life Science Zurich Business Network» und die Zusammenarbeit mit «Life Science Zurich».

Inhaltsverzeichnis

Bedeutung

In den letzten Jahren hat sich Zürich zum dynamisch wachsenden Zentrum für die Life-Sciences-Industrie entwickelt. Der Begriff Life Sciences umfasst die Anwendung naturwissenschaftlicher Erkenntnisse der modernen Biochemie, Medizin, Biophysik, Molekularbiologie, Bioinformatik, Medizintechnik und anderer Gebiete. Aus einer Unternehmensperspektive zählen wir Firmen aus folgenden Branchen zum Life-Science-Cluster: Pharma, Biotech, Medtech und Kontrollinstrumente, Grosshandel mit medizinischen Produkten sowie Forschung und Labors.

Breite akademische Basis

Eine breite Grundlagenforschung und angewandte Forschung gehören zu den wichtigsten Voraussetzungen für eine florierende Life-Sciences-Industrie. Die Entwicklung und Produktion im Cluster Life Sciences profitiert deshalb von der breiten akademischen Basis, die Zürich mit der ETH Zürich (ETHZ), der Universität Zürich (UZH), den universitären Spitälern sowie weiterer Kliniken und der Zürcher Fachhochschule ZHAW bietet. 

Der Transfer der Forschungserkenntnisse in marktfähige Produkte «from bench to bedside» wird durch verschiedene Initiativen im Bereich Translationale Medizin unterstützt, so zum Beispiel durch Wyss Zurich, eine gemeinsame Initiative von ETHZ und UZH. Zur wachsenden Dynamik des Clusters Life Sciences tragen Spin-offs der Hochschulen massgeblich bei, die sich zum Beispiel im BIO-TECHNOPARK® Schlieren-Zürich niederlassen.

International bekannte Unternehmen

Neben den zahlreichen ansässigen KMUs haben sich auch international bekannte Unternehmen für den Standort Zürich entschieden wie beispielsweise Roche, die in Schlieren mit einem Innovation Center präsent sind. Zusammen bilden die Akteure einen vielseitigen Mix aus exzellenter Wissenschaft, innovativen Spin-offs, etablierten KMUs und namhaften Grossunternehmen. Dank des starken ICT-Clusters ist Zürich auch im Bereich Digital Health gut aufgestellt. 

Innovationskraft im BIO-TECHNOPARK® Schlieren-Zürich

Video mit Mario Jenni, CEO Bio-Technopark Schlieren-Zürich, über die Innovationskraft am Life-Sciences-Standort Zürich Film über den Bio-Technopark in Schlieren, Zürich

Aktivitäten

Life Science Zurich Business Network

Der Wirtschaftsraum Zürich weist auch im Life Sciences Cluster eine ausserordentlich hohe Dichte an Unternehmen und Organisationen aus. Um die Akteure aus Wirtschaft, Akademie, Verwaltung und Politik im Raum Zürich gezielt zu vernetzen, wurde das Life Science Zurich Business Network als «Single Point of Contact» ins Leben gerufen. 

Life Science Zurich (LSZ)

Unter der Dachmarke «Life Science Zurich (LSZ)» arbeiten zahlreiche weitere Stakeholder eng zusammen. Gemeinsam werden folgende Aktivitäten/Gremien koordiniert:

  • Business Network als «Single Point of Contact» für die vernetzte Koordination der Zusammenarbeit mit Industrie, Akademie und Forschung sowie der öffentlichen Hand
  • Wissenschaftliche Programme und Kompetenz-Zentren
  • Doktoranden-Ausbildung (LSZ-Graduate School)
  • Schnittstellen-Management zu Gymnasien (LSZ-Learning Center)
  • Netzwerk zwischen Studierenden und der Industrie (LSZ-Young Scientist Network)
  • Kommunikation (LSZ-Communication & Events)

Ansprechpersonen

Danielle Spichiger

Projektleiterin Life Sciences Kanton Zürich

danielle.spichiger@vd.zh.ch
+41 43 259 49 86

Mario Jenni

Geschäftsführer BIO-TECHNOPARK® Schlieren-Zürich

mario.jenni@bio-technopark.ch
+41 44 730 83 29

Dr. Silvie Cuperus

Leiterin Communication & Events, Life Science Zurich

info@lifescience.uzh.ch
+41 44 635 35 01

Kontakt

Amt für Wirtschaft und Arbeit – Standortförderung

Adresse

Walchestrasse 19
8090 Zürich
Route anzeigen

Telefon

+41 43 259 49 92


Montag bis Freitag
8.00 bis 12.00 Uhr und
13.30 bis 17.00 Uhr

Für dieses Thema zuständig: