External Economic Relations

The external economic relations of the Canton of Zurich fall within the ambit of the Department for Economic Affairs. The focus is on networking at an international level and selectively expanding the canton’s external relations.

Table of contents

Tasks & Goals

The advancement of international relations translates into opportunities to directly pursue and actively influence international developments, both in the economic and in the political domain. The economic contacts resulting from these efforts are of direct benefit to Zurich-based representatives from industry, academia and administration.

In some countries, especially in China, direct private-sector and entrepreneurial contacts are not enough, which is why a degree of support is needed from high-ranking politicians. In this respect, the Department for Economic Affairs can help open doors, especially for SMEs and educational institutions, thus facilitating the initiation of new business relations and projects.

Partnerships

The Canton of Zurich has partnerships with Chongqing, Guangdong (both in China) and Seoul (South Korea). Partnership agreements are entered into only very selectively and after careful evaluation. They are adopted by the Government Council, primarily with the economic interests of the canton in mind. The Canton of Zurich also pursues and promotes economic relations with other countries and regions, chiefly with countries on the RRB 929/2012 country list.  

Use the accordion controls to toggle the visibility of each panel (below the controls).

The People’s Republic of China is, today, one of the world’s fastest-growing economies. Therefore, it makes good sense that the canton helps pave the way for Zurich’s well-diversified economy with its many outstanding companies and products.

Chongqing

The first partnership was signed on 23rd April, 2012, namely with China's largest municipality Chongqing. The »Partnership Agreement” was followed a year later by the conclusion of a »Letter of Intent” for economic collaboration. As a direct-controlled municipality, Chongqing is an autonomous administrative entity and home to some 31 million inhabitants. Thanks to its geographical location 2,400 km upstream from Shanghai, at the crossroads of the waterways from East China and the East-West trade routes, this region holds enormous economic potential. With the Partnership Agreement, the Canton of Zurich aims to implement specific projects and achieve corresponding results, so that Chinese companies and institutions will invest in Zurich and, in turn, companies from Zurich can gain a foothold in China.   

Councillor CWS
Reception of Mr TANG Liangzhi, Mayor of the Municipality of Chongqing at the Rechberg House in July 2018

Guangdong

Zurich’s Government Council entered a »Memorandum of Understanding” with the South Chinese province of Guangdong on 12th July 2013 in Zurich. This was followed by the signing of a »Partnership Agreement” on 18th April 2014. The Guangdong region has the largest gross domestic product in China and plays a pioneering economic role in the areas of electronics, finance industry and biotechnology. With the »Greater Bay Initiative”, the Guangdong province is striving to create a megapolis by connecting the centres Hong Kong, Macao and Guangzhou with six other cities in the province. The result will be an economic area with roughly 68 million inhabitants. A proactive exchange with representatives from the Guangdong government and business sector is thus of great interest to Zurich’s economy. The Partnership Agreement between the two regions forms an excellent basis for a regular exchange of that nature.

Government Councillor Carmen Walker Späh meets Mr. MA Xingrui, Governor of Guangdong, in April 2018.
Government Councillor Carmen Walker Späh meets Mr MA Xingrui, Governor of Guangdong, in April 2018.

The Canton of Zurich has had economic contacts with South Korea for many years. This collaboration was formulised on 3rd October, 2018, with the signing of a »Memorandum of Understanding” (MoU). Since then, economic cooperation is being fostered for further development, so as to benefit the growing number of innovative companies in Zurich. 

Seoul is the centre of the Sudogwon metropolitan area. Home to more than 25 million people, it is ranked as the fourth-largest economic area in the world. With the signing of the MoU, the Canton of Zurich wants to open doors within the Korean market for Zurich’s well diversified companies and products. The MoU includes the promotion of cooperation in e-Government, science and innovative technologies, as well as in the areas of culture and tourism.   

Zurich Meets Your City

In recent years, the Canton of Zurich, together with the City of Zurich and Zürich Tourism, has had the opportunity to present itself with the slogan »Zurich meets your City” in various major cities across the globe, collaborating with the University of Zurich, ETH Zurich, Zurich University of the Arts, Zurich University of Applied Sciences and with involvement of the city of Winterthur. The first »Zurich meets …” event was held in London in 2016, followed by Hong Kong in 2017, San Francisco in 2018 and Seoul in 2019. The programmes organised in connection with these events focus on making Zurich known to the local residents as a place for business, science and culture, and highlighting Zurich’s locational appeal.  

Corinne Wyer

Project Manager External Relations

corinne.wyer@vd.zh.ch
+41 43 259 43 84

Contact

Office for Economy and Labour – Business and Economic Development Division

Address

Walchestrasse 19
8090 Zürich
Show route

Phone

+41 43 259 49 92


Monday to Friday
8 a.m. to 12 a.m.
1.30 p.m. to 5 p.m.

Für dieses Thema zuständig:

Wirtschaftliche Aussenbeziehungen

Mit den wirtschaftlichen Aussenbeziehungen will sich der Kanton Zürich über die Volkswirtschaftsdirektion international vernetzen und seine Beziehungen gezielt ausbauen.

Inhaltsverzeichnis

Aufgaben und Ziele

Die Pflege von internationalen Beziehungen ist eine Chance, um internationale Entwicklungen sowohl im wirtschaftlichen wie im politischen Bereich unmittelbar zu verfolgen und aktiv zu beeinflussen. Die dadurch erworbenen Wirtschaftskontakte haben einen unmittelbaren Nutzen für die im Kanton ansässigen Vertreter aus Wirtschaft, Wissenschaft und Verwaltung.

In manchen Ländern, insbesondere in China, genügen privatwirtschaftliche und unternehmerische Direktkontakte nicht. Die Wirtschaft ist auf die Begleitung durch hochrangige Politikerinnen und Politiker angewiesen. Die Volkswirtschaftsdirektion kann so als Türöffner fungieren, was insbesondere KMU und Bildungsinstitutionen den Aufbau neuer Geschäftsbeziehungen und Projekte ermöglicht.  

Partnerschaften

Der Kanton Zürich pflegt Partnerschaften mit Chongqing, Guangdong (beides China) und Seoul (Südkorea). Partnerschaftsverträge erfolgen nur sehr gezielt, nach sorgfältiger Evaluation und werden vom Regierungsrat verabschiedet. Sie orientieren sich in erster Linie nach den wirtschaftlichen Interessen des Kantons. Weitere wirtschaftliche Kontakte werden vorrangig zu Ländern und Regionen gepflegt, die auf der Länderliste gemäss RRB 929/2012 stehen.

Verwenden Sie die Akkordeon-Bedienelemente, um die Sichtbarkeit der jeweiligen Panels (unterhalb der Bedienelemente) umzuschalten.

Die Volksrepublik China zählt heute zu den wirtschaftlich am stärksten wachsenden Volkswirtschaften. Es ist deshalb zweckmässig, wenn sich der Kanton hier als Türöffner für seine diversifizierte Wirtschaft mit ihren ausgezeichneten Unternehmen und Produkten einsetzt.

Chongqing

Der Spatenstich für die erste Partnerschaft erfolgte am 23. April 2012 mit der grössten chinesischen Stadt Chongqing. Auf die dann unterzeichnete Absichtserklärung (Letter of Intent) für eine wirtschaftliche Zusammenarbeit, folgte ein Jahr später das Partnerschaftsabkommen. Chongqing stellt als regierungsunmittelbare Stadt eine eigenständige Verwaltungseinheit mit rund 31 Millionen Einwohnern dar. Durch ihre Lage, 2400 Kilometer flussaufwärts von Shanghai am Knotenpunkt der Wasserstrassen aus Ostchina und der Handelsrouten von Ost nach West, birgt diese Region enormes Wirtschaftspotential. Mit dem Partnerschaftsabkommen verfolgt der Kanton Zürich das Ziel, konkrete Projekte und entsprechende Resultate zu realisieren, damit chinesische Firmen und Institutionen in Zürich investieren und umgekehrt Zürcher Firmen in China Fuss fassen können.

Regierungsrätin Carmen Walker Späh und Regierungsrat Ernst Stocker beim Empfang des Oberbürgermeisters von Chongqing
Empfang des Oberbürgermeisters Tang Liangzhi aus Chongqing im Haus zum Rechberg im Juli 2018

Guangdong

Mit der südchinesischen Provinz Guangdong unterzeichnete der Regierungsrat am 12. Juli 2013 ein «Memorandum of Understanding» in Zürich, welches am 18. April 2014 in ein Partnerschaftsabkommen mündete. Die Region weist das grösste Bruttoinlandprodukt in China aus und hat insbesondere in den Bereichen Elektronik, Finanzindustrie sowie Biotechnologie eine wirtschaftliche Vorreiterrolle. Mit der Greater Bay Initiative möchte die Provinz Guangdong die Zentren Hongkong, Macau und Guangzhou mit sechs weiteren Städten in der Provinz zu einem Wirtschaftsraum mit rund 68 Millionen Einwohnern verbinden. Das Interesse der Zürcher Wirtschaft, sich mit Vertretern der Guangdong Regierung und der Wirtschaft auszutauschen, ist deshalb gross. Dank der Partnerschaft der beiden Regionen ist dieser Austausch regelmässig möglich.

Regierungsrätin Carmen Walker Späh und der Gouverneur von Guangdong
Regierungsrätin Carmen Walker Späh empfängt Gouverneur von Guangdong MA Xingrui im April 2018

Der Kanton Zürich pflegt seit mehreren Jahren wirtschaftliche Kontakte zu Südkorea. Am 3. Oktober 2018 wurde diese Zusammenarbeit mit der Unterzeichnung eines Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) formalisiert. Zum Nutzen der wachsenden Zahl innovativer Zürcher Unternehmen wird seither die wirtschaftliche Zusammenarbeit für den weiteren Ausbau gefördert.

Seoul ist Zentrum der Metropolregion Sudogwon, die mit über 25 Millionen Einwohnern als viertgrösster Wirtschaftsraum der Welt gilt. Mit der Unterzeichnung des MoU will sich der Kanton Zürich als Türöffner im koreanischen Markt für seine diversifizierte Wirtschaft mit ihren Unternehmen und Produkten einsetzen. Das MoU beinhaltet die Förderung der Zusammenarbeit in den Bereichen e-Government, Wissenschaft und innovative Technologien sowie Kultur und Tourismus.

Zürich meets your City

Der Kanton Zürich hat sich zusammen mit der Stadt Zürich und Zürich Tourismus unter dem Slogan «Zurich meets your City» in Kooperation mit den Hochschulen ETH Zürich, Universität Zürich, Zürcher Hochschule der Künste, Zürcher Hochschule für Angewandte Wissenschaften und unter Einbezug der Stadt Winterthur in den letzten Jahren in verschiedenen Grossstädten weltweit präsentieren können. Zum ersten Mal fand dieser gemeinsame Auftritt 2016 in London, 2017 in Hong Kong, 2018 in San Francisco und 2019 in Seoul statt. Mit dem Veranstaltungsprogramm, das im Rahmen dieser Besuche organisiert wird, soll der örtlichen Bevölkerung der Wirtschafts-, Wissenschafts- und Kulturstandort Zürich bekannt gemacht und auf seine Attraktivität hingewiesen werden.

Corinne Wyer

Projektleiterin Aussenbeziehungen

corinne.wyer@vd.zh.ch
+41 43 259 43 84

Weiterführende Informationen

Verwenden Sie die Akkordeon-Bedienelemente, um die Sichtbarkeit der jeweiligen Panels (unterhalb der Bedienelemente) umzuschalten.

Kontakt

Amt für Wirtschaft und Arbeit – Standortförderung

Adresse

Walchestrasse 19
8090 Zürich
Route anzeigen

Telefon

+41 43 259 49 92


Montag bis Freitag
8.00 bis 12.00 Uhr und
13.30 bis 17.00 Uhr

Für dieses Thema zuständig: