Transformation of the Office for Economy and Labour

At the request of the Department for Economic Affairs, the Zurich Government Council in the summer of 2022 decided to transform the Office for Economy and Labour into two independent Offices as of 1 January 2024: an Office for Economy (AWI) and an Office for Labour (AFA).

Reasons for transformation

The economic challenges will continue to increase in the coming years. Competition between locations is intensifying, while the world of work is changing rapidly. The digital transformation, more flexible and location-independent work models and the labour shortage pose major challenges for companies, the labour market and the economy as a whole.

In order to be optimally equipped and increase the agility of reactions to these developments in the Canton of Zurich, the existing economic and labour market competencies in the current Office for Economy and Labour with its broad range of services need to be strengthened organisationally. At the request of the Department for Economic Affairs, the Zurich Government Council in the summer of 2022 therefore decided to transform the Office for Economy and Labour into two independent Offices as of 1 January 2024. This will bundle the services and strengthen the focus on the business location and the labour market.

Office for Economy

The new Office for Economy (AWI) includes the areas of Business and Economic Development, Work Permits, Work Conditions and National Economy (comprising the Economic policy unit, the Housing Subsidy unit and National Economic Supply). The following managers are responsible for the individual areas:

Division Management
Head of Office for Economy Dr. Fabian Streiff
Business and Economic Development Dr. Markus Müller und Samuel Mösle
Work Permits Andreas Luchsinger
Work Conditions Christina Disler a.i.
National Economy Luc Zobrist
Staff Functions Irene Stöckly

Office for Labour

The new Office for Labour (AFA) includes the Labour Market, Unemployment Insurance and Unemployment Insurance Fund. The following managers are responsible for the individual areas:

Division Management
Head of Office for Labour Hans Rupp
Unemployment Insurance Birgit Frei-Urscheler
Unemployment Insurance Fund Gianmaria Meo
Consultations & Placement vacant position
Qualification of Job Seekers Martin Karrer
Competence Centre for Labour Dr. Katharina Degen

The new offices commenced operations on 1 January 2024.

Contact

Office for Labour

Address

Walchestrasse 19
8090 Zürich
Route (Google)

Transformation des AWA

Diese Seite ist verfügbar in:

Der Regierungsrat hat im Sommer 2022 auf Antrag der Volkswirtschaftsdirektion entschieden, das AWA per 1. Januar 2024 in zwei eigenständige Ämter zu transformieren: in ein Amt für Wirtschaft (AWI) und ein Amt für Arbeit (AFA).

Gründe für die Transformation

In den kommenden Jahren werden die volkswirtschaftlichen Herausforderungen weiter zunehmen. Der Wettbewerb unter den Standorten verschärft sich, während sich die Arbeitswelt rapide verändert. Die digitale Transformation, flexiblere und ortsunabhängigere Arbeitsmodelle sowie der Arbeitskräftemangel stellen Unternehmen, den Arbeitsmarkt und die gesamte Wirtschaft vor grosse Herausforderungen.

Um für die kommenden Herausforderungen bestmöglich gerüstet zu sein und noch agiler darauf reagieren zu können, braucht es eine organisatorische Stärkung der vorhandenen wirtschaftlichen und arbeitsmarktlichen Kompetenzen im heute sehr breit aufgestellten Amt für Wirtschaft und Arbeit. Der Zürcher Regierungsrat hat deshalb auf Antrag der Volkswirtschaftsdirektion im Sommer 2022 entschieden, das AWA per 1. Januar 2024 in zwei eigenständige Ämter zu transformieren. Die Leistungen werden dadurch gebündelt und der Fokus auf den Wirtschaftsstandort sowie der Fokus auf den Arbeitsmarkt gestärkt.

Amt für Wirtschaft

Das neue Amt für Wirtschaft (AWI) beinhaltet die Bereiche Standortförderung, Arbeitsbewilligungen, Arbeitsbedingungen und Volkswirtschaft (mit der Fachstelle Wirtschaftspolitik, der Fachstelle Wohnbauförderung sowie der Wirtschaftlichen Landesversorgung).

Folgende Personen übernehmen die Verantwortung für die einzelnen Bereiche:

Bereich Leitung
Amtsleitung AWI Dr. Fabian Streiff
Standortförderung Dr. Markus Müller und Samuel Mösle
Arbeitsbewilligungen Andreas Luchsinger
Arbeitsbedingungen Christina Disler a.i.
Volkswirtschaft Luc Zobrist
Stab Irene Stöckly

Amt für Arbeit

Das neue Amt für Arbeit (AFA) ist für den Arbeitsmarkt, die Arbeitslosenversicherung und die Arbeitslosenkasse zuständig. Folgende Personen übernehmen die Verantwortung für die einzelnen Bereiche:

Bereich Leitung
Amtsleitung AFA Hans Rupp
Arbeitslosenversicherung Birgit Frei-Urscheler
Arbeitslosenkasse Gianmaria Meo
Beratung & Vermittlung noch offen
Qualifizierung für Stellensuchende (QuS) Martin Karrer
Kompetenzzentrum Arbeit Dr. Katharina Degen

Am 1. Januar 2024 haben das Amt für Wirtschaft (AWI) und das Amt für Arbeit (AFA) ihre Arbeit aufgenommen.

Kontakt

Amt für Arbeit

Adresse

Walchestrasse 19
Postfach
8090 Zürich
Route (Google)