Mental Health Care

If incarcerated persons wish or if ordered by a court, they can receive psychological or psychiatric treatment. This includes standard care and crisis support as well as offence-preventing therapy.

Table of contents

Services and objective

Zurich’s prisons provide psychiatric, psychological, and psychotherapeutic care for offenders in their institutions.

The objective of the treatments is long-term prevention of recidivism in the inmates on the one hand and taking care of their mental health on the other. This includes preventing mental health issues caused or caused in part by their incarceration.

The treatments are either voluntary therapy sessions or court-ordered measures. Corrections and Rehabilitation’s Psychiatric-Psychological Service is in charge of mental health care.

Every year, the Psychiatric-Psychological Service (Psychiatrisch-Psychologischer Dienst, PPS) treats some 250 persons in offence-oriented, relapse-preventing therapies, of which about two thirds take place in institutions and one third is in the form of outpatient treatment.

The therapy sessions take place in prisons and correctional measures centres as well as in the form of outpatient treatments. Depending on the clients’ needs, the sessions can be individual or group sessions. The measures consist of several continuous, content-coordinated treatment sequences that are regularly evaluated and adjusted through internal team processes and external audits.

In the following, you will find a description of Corrections and Rehabilitation’s different psychiatric and psychotherapeutic services.

Outpatient treatments

The outpatient adult forensics department (Ambulante Erwachsenenforensik, AEF) implements court-ordered outpatient measures for adult inmates. If required and whenever possible, the expert staff also treats persons who are in indefinite incarceration as well as voluntary clients. The treatments generally consist of individual and group therapy, all the while respecting the individual circumstances and needs of the clients.  

Individual and group therapy

For individual therapy, client and therapist usually meet once a week for a one-on-one conversation.

In group therapy sessions, there are two to three group therapists and four to eight clients.

Topics that are treated in the sessions include: the clients’ life stories, personal crises, offences, and current topics.  

The AEF’s individual and group therapy sessions are offered to incarcerated clients as well as clients in freedom. Incarcerated persons are treated in the correctional facility. For free clients, Corrections and Rehabilitation provides therapy rooms in its headquarters.

Whenever possible, clients have the same therapists throughout their treatment. This means that the therapists accompany their clients from the beginning to the end of the treatment. The treatment usually begins while the clients are in prison and ends some time after they are released.

Inpatient treatments

The inpatient adult forensics department (Stationäre Erwachsenenforensik, StEF) implements court-ordered inpatient measures for adult inmates. Inpatient treatment consists, in part, of individual and group therapy sessions. For the most part, however, the clients are in a milieu-therapeutic setting in an inpatient measures ward of the forensic-psychiatric unit (Forensisch-Psychiatrische Abteilung, FPA) that is equipped specifically for this purpose.

First, in the context of therapeutic treatment in the general closed regime, experts evaluate whether the clients are suited for a milieu-therapeutic setting. If the requirements are met, the inmates move to the forensic-psychiatric unit, where they work extensively and intensely on questions concerning offences and prevention. During their treatment, the clients live in a therapeutically structured community. In this setting, the FPA’s employees support them in maintaining and improving their social competences and preparing for an independent, offence-free life.

This makes inpatient treatment a lot more intense than outpatient treatment. If the clients meet the necessary requirements, they can move on to an open regime and, later on, to day release employment or day release employment in combination with external accommodation. They will still receive treatment and go to therapy in these regimes, however, the topics that are treated will be different.

There are very few times in which clients are not suited for milieu therapy, in which case the StEF develops individual solutions.

Treatment of adolescents and young adults

Adolescents and young adults aged 16 to 30 are the clientele of the adolescent forensics department (Adoleszentenforensik, AF). By order of a court, therapists treat these clients in individual and group therapy sessions as well as in interdisciplinary learning programmes. The aim is to help adolescent or young adult offenders take responsibility and be in command of their emotions, impulses, and actions in order to sustainably reduce the risk of recidivism. A further task of the AF is to conduct risk assessments of the clients. This means that therapists try to assess the probability of the client committing another offence.

The AF team works on-site with the team of the Centre for Correctional Measures Uitikon (Massnahmenzentrum Uitikon, MZU). But first, clients go through a preparatory phase in another institution. If they meet the necessary requirements, the MZU takes them on.

At the Centre for Correctional Measures, the clients receive psychotherapeutic treatment and are integrated into a socio-pedagogical, workagogical, and educational treatment concept. The synergy of pedagogical measures, offence-focused therapy, and vocational education aims to help the clients prevent recidivism and make it easier for them to reintegrate into society.

When inmates reach a certain treatment level, they are moved into open settings; from the secure unit to an open ward, then to the »Wohngruppe Austritt” (group home before release), and finally to day release employment and external accommodation. The AF team supports and treats the clients during the entire process.

Psychiatric services

The psychiatric forensics department (Psychiatrische Forensik, PF) takes care of the psychiatric treatment of clients in recidivism-preventing, offence-oriented therapy. The head of PF also heads the unit for initial therapeutic assessments (Funktionseinheit Therapeutische Eingangsabklärungen, TEA) and coordinates the cooperation with primary psychiatric care, which is the care provided to all incarcerated persons in the canton of Zurich. It is provided by the Zurich University Psychiatric Hospital (Psychiatrische Universitätsklinik Zürich, PUK).

Further information

Use the accordion controls to toggle the visibility of each panel (below the controls).

Contact

Psychiatric-Psychological Service More information

Address

Hohlstrasse 552
Postfach
8090 Zürich
Show route

Phone

Für dieses Thema zuständig:

Psychische Gesundheits­versorgung

Inhaftierte Personen können sich auf Wunsch oder auf gerichtliche Anordnung hin in psychologische oder psychiatrische Behandlung begeben. Dazu gehören neben der Normal- und Krisenversorgung auch deliktpräventive Therapien.

Inhaltsverzeichnis

Angebot & Ziel

Die Zürcher Gefängnisse sind für die psychiatrische, psychologische und psychotherapeutische Versorgung von straffälligen Personen in ihren Institutionen besorgt.

Ziel der Behandlung ist es zum Einen, das Rückfallrisiko der Inhaftierten nachhaltig zu verringern. Zum Andern soll ihre psychische Gesundheit erhalten werden. Es gilt also auch gesundheitliche Schäden zu vermeiden, die durch die Haft ausgelöst oder mitverursacht werden können.

Jährlich behandelt der Psychiatrisch-Psychologische Dienst (PPD) rund 250 Personen in rückfallpräventiven deliktorientierten Therapien. Davon werden etwa zwei Drittel in Institutionen und ein Drittel ambulant durchgeführt.

Die Behandlungen erfolgen entweder als freiwillige Therapien oder als gerichtlich angeordnete Massnahmen. Zuständig für die psychische Gesundheitsversorgung ist der Psychiatrisch-Psychologische Dienst (PPD) von Justizvollzug und Wiedereingliederung (JuWe).

Die Therapien finden in Vollzugs- und Massnahmeneinrichtungen sowie ambulant statt. Je nach Bedürfnis sind Einzel- und/oder Gruppensitzungen möglich. Die Massnahmen bestehen aus mehreren aufeinander folgenden Behandlungsblöcken (Sequenzen). Sie werden durch interne Teamprozesse und externe Audits regelmässig überprüft und angepasst.

Im Folgenden finden Sie eine Beschreibung der verschiedenen psychiatrischen und psychotherapeutischen Angebote des JuWe.
 

Ambulante Behandlungen

Die Ambulante Erwachsenenforensik (AEF) führt ambulante Massnahmen bei erwachsenen Inhaftierten durch, die ein Gericht angeordnet hat. Bei Bedarf und nach Möglichkeit behandelt das Fachpersonal auch verwahrte Insassen und freiwillige Klient*innen. Die Behandlungen bestehen im Normalfall aus Einzel- und Gruppentherapien. Dabei berücksichtigt die AEF individuelle Voraussetzungen und Bedürfnisse der Klient*innen.

Einzel- und Gruppentherapien

In der Einzeltherapie treffen sich Klient*in und Therapeut*in normalerweise einmal wöchentlich zum Gespräch unter vier Augen.

An den Gruppentherapien nehmen neben zwei bis drei Gruppentherapeut*innen meist vier bis acht Klient*innen teil.

Beispiele für Themen, die in den Therapien zur Sprache kommen, sind: die eigene Lebensgeschichte, persönliche Krisen, Deliktarbeit und aktuelle Themen.

Die Einzel- und Gruppentherapien bietet die AEF sowohl für Klient*innen in Haft als auch in Freiheit an. Inhaftierte Personen behandeln die Therapeut*innen in der Justizvollzugsanstalt. Für Klient*innen in Freiheit stehen Therapieräume im Gebäude von Justizvollzug und Wiedereingliederung zur Verfügung.

Die Behandlung führen nach Möglichkeit immer dieselben Fachpersonen durch. Das bedeutet, die Therapeut*innen begleiten ihre Klient*innen vom Beginn der Therapie bis zum Schluss. Die Behandlung beginnt in der Regel in Haft und endet meist nach einiger Zeit in Freiheit.

Stationäre Behandlungen

Die Stationäre Erwachsenenforensik (StEF) führt auf Anordnung eines Gerichts stationäre Massnahmen bei erwachsenen Inhaftierten durch. Zum Teil besteht die stationäre Therapie aus Einzel- und Gruppentherapien. Über weite Strecken begeben sich die Klienten aber in ein milieutherapeutisches Setting in einer extra dafür ausgestatteten Massnahmenstation der Forensisch-Psychiatrischen Abteilung (FPA).

Zunächst klären therapeutische Fachpersonen im Rahmen der therapeutischen Behandlung im allgemeinen geschlossenen Vollzug ab, ob die Klienten für ein milieutherapeutisches Setting geeignet sind. Wenn die Voraussetzungen dafür gegeben sind, wechseln die Insassen auf die FPA. Hier beschäftigen sie sich intensiv mit Fragen des Deliktgeschehens und der Deliktprävention. Die Klienten leben dabei in einer therapeutisch strukturierten Gemeinschaft. In diesem Setting unterstützen sie Mitarbeitende der FPA dabei, ihre sozialen Kompetenzen zu erhalten und zu erweitern und sich auf ein eigenverantwortliches deliktfreies Leben vorzubereiten.

Die stationäre Behandlung ist dadurch wesentlich intensiver als im ambulanten Bereich. Erfüllen die Klienten die Voraussetzungen, so können sie in den offenen Massahmenvollzug und später in ein Arbeitsexternat oder ein Arbeits- und Wohnexternat wechseln. Auch dort begeben sie sich in therapeutische Behandlung, allerdings verschieben sich die inhaltlichen Schwerpunkte.

In seltenen Fällen kann es sein, dass sich Klienten nicht für die Milieutherapie eignen. Dann erarbeitet die StEF individuelle Lösungen.

Behandlung von Jugendlichen und jungen Erwachsenen

Jugendliche und junge Erwachsene von 16 bis 30 Jahren bilden die Klientel der Adoleszentenforensik (AF). Auf Anordnung eines Gerichts behandeln die therapeutischen Fachpersonen diese Klienten in Einzel- und Gruppentherapien sowie interdisziplinär geführten Lernprogrammen. Ihr Ziel ist es, die jugendlichen oder jungen erwachsenen Straftäter darin zu stärken, ihre Emotionen, Impulse und Handlungen zu steuern und Selbstverantwortung zu übernehmen. So soll das Risiko eines Rückfalls nachhaltig sinken. Damit verbunden ist eine weitere Funktion der AF: die legalprognostische Einschätzung der Klienten. Das bedeutet, dass Therapeut*innen abzuschätzen versuchen, wie wahrscheinlich eine weitere Straftat sein wird.

Das Team der AF behandelt gemeinsam mit dem Team des Massnahmenzentrums Uitikon (MZU) vor Ort. Zunächst durchlaufen die Klienten aber eine Vorbereitungsphase in einer anderen Einrichtung. Erfüllen sie die Voraussetzungen, nimmt sie anschliessend das MZU auf.

Im Massnahmenzentrum sind die Klienten neben den psychotherapeutischen Behandlungen auch in ein sozialpädagogisches, arbeitsagogisches und schulisches Konzept eingebunden. Im Zusammenspiel sollen diese pädagogischen Massnahmen, die deliktorientierte Therapie und die berufliche Ausbildung dafür sorgen, dass die Klienten weniger rückfällig werden und sich leichter wieder in die Gesellschaft eingliedern können.

Erreichen Insassen einen gewissen Behandlungsstand, so werden sie in offenere Settings versetzt; von der geschlossenen in die offene Abteilung weiter in die «Wohngruppe Austritt» und schliesslich ins Wohn- und/oder Arbeitsexternat. Wärend des gesamten Prozesses begleitet das Team der AF die Klienten therapeutisch.

Psychiatrische Angebote

Die Psychiatrische Forensik (PF) sorgt für die psychiatrische Behandlung von Klient*innen, die sich in rückfallpräventiven deliktorientierten Therapien befinden. Die Leitung der PF führt ausserdem die Funktionseinheit Therapeutische Eingangsabklärungen (TEA). Sie koordiniert auch die Zusammenarbeit mit der psychiatrischen Grundversorgung. Damit ist die Versorgung aller anderen inhaftierten Personen im Kanton Zürich gemeint. Die Grundversorgung wird durch die Psychiatrische Universitätsklinik Zürich (PUK) bereitgestellt.

Kontakt

Psychiatrisch-Psychologischer Dienst Mehr erfahren

Adresse

Postfach
Hohlstrasse 552
8090 Zürich
Route anzeigen

Telefon

Für dieses Thema zuständig: