Basic Education and Further Training

The Office for the Execution of Penal Sentences and Reintegration (JuWe) offers detained persons the opportunity to develop their professional skills and to meet their educational needs.

Educational opportunities

Depending on their function and facilities available, the penal institutions offer various educational opportunities to their inmates.

Please find below a list of educational opportunities offered by the Penal Institutions of the Canton of Zurich (VEZ), the Penal Institution of Pöschwies (JVA Pöschwies), the Penal Facility for Juveniles Uitikon (MZU), and the Remand Prisons of the Canton of Zurich (UGZ).

Penal Institutions of the Canton of Zurich (VEZ)

Basic education

The Penal Institutions of the Canton of Zurich (with the exception of semi-detention in Winterthur) offer their inmates the opportunity to receive a basic education. The programme «Education in penal institutions» (German: «Bildung im Strafvollzug (BiSt)») allows detained persons to catch up with their school education, mainly in reading, writing, and mathematics, it serves to enhance general knowledges and teaches how to use tools such as computers. The programme also promotes special skills, self-competence skills, and soft skills.
In addition to supporting detainees in coping with everyday life in a penal institution, the most important objective of basic education is to improve the offenders’ chances of successful reintegration into the labour market and society in general.

The organization Swiss Workers’ Aid SAH offers the above-mentioned basic education within the scope of the educational programme »Bildung im Strafvollzug” (BiSt). In addition to the Penal Institutions of the Canton of Zurich, the project is also supported by five further penal institutions of the Concordat Northwest and Central Switzerland as well as the Concordat Eastern Switzerland.

Penal Institution of Pöschwies (JVA Pöschwies)

Basic education

The JVA Pöschwies has 15 study groups consisting of six students each. Basic education for detainees was introduced at the JVA Pöschwies on May 1, 2011.

Vocational training

The JVA Pöschwies also offers various vocational training programmes. School lessons and the qualification procedures (final examinations and assessments) take place on the premises of the JVA Pöschwies. Specialized classes and general knowledge classes are taught by external teachers as well as by instructors of the JVA Pöschwies. The detainees may choose from the following basic education programmes:

  • Basic education with certificate (two years): baker and confectioner practitioner, garden assistant, kitchen assistant, metal work practitioner, print media practitioner (sheet-fed printing / print processing), tyre practitioner, carpenter practitioner.
  • Basic education with Federal Vocational Education and Training (VET) Diploma (three or four years): Fully certified baker and confectioner, maintenance technician, gardener, cook, metal worker, carpenter.

Language and IT classes with diplomas or certificates

Students of language and IT classes may complete their studies with an internationally recognized diploma or certificate. Every year, numerous detainees make use of this offer and graduate with German language diplomas, Cambridge exams, and ECDL exams.

Correspondence courses

Some detainees participate in correspondence courses offered by various educational institutions. The students enrol in a wide variety of classes such as language classes, Bible courses, courses in graphical design, information technology, accounting, business and commerce as well as baccalaureate courses (A-levels degree).

Penal Facility for Juveniles Uitikon (MZU)

The Facility for the Execution of Measures for Juvenile Male Delinquents in Uitikon (MZU) offers vocational as well as school education to its juvenile inmates. This is the most promising approach for a successful reintegration of juvenile offenders.

School education

First of all, the school skills of the juvenile offenders are assessed at the schools of the day-release unit as well as of the closed unit of the Uitikon Facility. Personal resources are evaluated by means of various tests with the goal of creating the best possible conditions for vocational school. Before transferring to a vocational school, the teachers and the young offenders evaluate their current work and prepare a transfer report together.  

Vocational training

MZU offers vocational degrees such as the Federal Vocational Education and Training Diploma (Eidg. Fähigkeitszeugnis EFZ), the Federal Vocational Education and Training Certificate (Eidg. Berufsattest EBA) as well as proof of competence in the following areas:

  • educational sectors of the closed unit
  • garage and car repair
  • garden centre
  • domestic management
  • kitchen
  • farming
  • painting
  • metal construction
  • carpentry
  • technical services

Remand Prisons of the Canton of Zurich

In the facilities of the Remand Prisons of the Canton of Zurich (UGZ), classes in small groups are held by the hour. Classes are held on a voluntary basis as there is no legal obligation to provide basic education or further training to detainees in remand and security detention. In contrast to adult offenders, juvenile offenders in the Penal Institution Limmattal are subject to compulsory school attendance. A teacher is available for school education.

Contact

Justizvollzug & Wiedereingliederung More information

Address

Postfach
Hohlstrasse 552
8090 Zürich
Show route

Phone

Für dieses Thema zuständig:

Aus- und Weiterbildung Strafvollzug

Justizvollzug und Wiedereingliederung (JuWe) bietet den Inhaftierten an, ihre beruflichen Fertigkeiten zu fördern und ihren Bildungsbedarf zu decken.

Inhaltsverzeichnis

Bildungsangebote  

Je nach Auftragsart und Ausstattung stehen in den Institutionen des Justizvollzugs verschiedene Bildungsangebote zur Verfügung.

Nachfolgend sind die Bildungsangebote der Vollzugseinrichtungen Zürich (VEZ), der Justizvollzugsanstalt Pöschwies (JVA Pöschwies), des Massnahmenzentrums Uitikon (MZU) und der Untersuchungsgefängnisse Zürich (UGZ) beschrieben.

Vollzugseinrichtungen Zürich

 

Basisbildung  

In den Vollzugseinrichtungen Zürich (ausser der Halbgefangenschaft Winterthur) erhalten die inhaftierten Personen eine Basisbildung. Die «Bildung im Strafvollzug» (BiSt) ermöglicht den Insassen, schulische Lücken – insbesondere beim Lesen, Schreiben und Rechnen – zu schliessen, die Allgemeinbildung zu erweitern und den Umgang mit Hilfsmitteln wie Computern zu erlernen. Generell werden Fach-, Selbst- und Sozialkompetenzen gefördert.
Neben der Unterstützung der Insassen bei der Bewältigung des Vollzugsalltags, ist die Verbesserung der Chancen bei der Wiedereingliederung in den Arbeitsmarkt und in die Gesellschaft wichtigstes Ziel der Basisbildung.

Die Basisbildung wird im Rahmen des Projekts «Bildung im Strafvollzug» (BiSt) des Schweizerischen Arbeiterhilfswerks angeboten. Am Projekt beteiligt sind neben den Betrieben der Vollzugseinrichtungen Zürich fünf weitere Vollzugsanstalten aus dem Konkordat der Nordwest- und Innerschweiz sowie dem Konkordat der Ostschweiz.  

Justizvollzugsanstalt Pöschwies  

 

Basisbildung

In der JVA Pöschwies gibt es 15 Lerngruppen mit jeweils sechs Schülern. Seit dem 1. Mai 2011 erhalten die in der JVA Pöschwies inhaftierten Personen eine Basisbildung.

Berufsbildung  

In der JVA Pöschwies werden verschiedene Berufsausbildungen angeboten. Der Unterricht und das Qualifikationsverfahren (Lehrabschlussprüfungen und Augenscheine) finden in der JVA Pöschwies statt. Fachunterricht und allgemeinbildender Unterricht wird von externen Lehrpersonen und von Lehrmeistern der JVA Pöschwies erteilt. Die Inhaftierten können aus folgenden Grundbildungen wählen:

  • Grundbildung mit Attest (zwei Jahre): Bäcker-Konditor, Gärtnereiarbeiter, Küchenangestellter, Metallbaupraktiker, Printmedienpraktiker (Bogendruck / Druckweiterverarbeitung), Reifenpraktiker, Schreinerpraktiker.
  • Grundbildung mit Fähigkeitszeugnis (drei oder vier Jahre): Bäcker-Konditor, Fachmann Betriebsunterhalt (Werkdienst), Gärtner, Koch, Metallbauer, Schreiner.

Sprach- & Informatikkurse mit Diplomabschluss oder Zertifikat

Die Schüler von Sprach- und Informatikkursen haben die Möglichkeit ein international anerkanntes Diplom oder Zertifikat zu machen. Jedes Jahr machen zahlreiche Inhaftierte Gebrauch von diesem Angebot und schliessen mit Deutschdiplomen, Cambridge Exams und ECDL-Tests ab.

Fernkurse  

Einige Inhaftierte nehmen an Fernkursen verschiedenster Institutionen teil. Die Schüler belegen Fächer in den unterschiedlichsten Gebieten: Sprachkurse, Bibelkurse, Grafikkurse, Informatikkurse, Buchhaltungskurse, Handelskurse und Maturitätskurse.

Massnahmenzentrum Uitikon

Im Massnahmezentrum Uitikon (MZU) erhalten die inhaftierten Jugendlichen eine berufliche und schulische Ausbildung. Sie ist ein zentrales Mittel, damit die Wiedereingliederung eines jungen Straftäters gelingen kann.

Schulische Ausbildung

In der Schule der Geschlossenen sowie der Offenen Abteilung werden zuerst Abklärungen über die schulischen Fähigkeiten der jungen Straftäter getroffen. Anhand verschiedener Tests werden die persönlichen Ressourcen erfasst. Ziel ist es, eine möglichst gute Voraussetzung für die Berufsschule zu schaffen. Vor Übertritt in die Berufsschule werten Lehrer und der jugendliche Straftäter die bisherige Arbeit aus und erstellen gemeinsam einen Übertrittsbericht.

Berufsbildung  

Das MZU bietet in folgenden Betrieben Ausbildungen mit den Abschlüssen Eidgenössisches Fähigkeitszeugnis EFZ, Eidgenössisches Berufsattest EBA und Kompetenznachweis an:

  • Ausbildungsbetriebe Geschlossene Abteilung
  • Garage 
  • Gärtnerei 
  • Hauswirtschaft 
  • Küche 
  • Landwirtschaft 
  • Malerei 
  • Metallbau 
  • Schreinerei 
  • Technischer Dienst  

Untersuchungsgefängnisse

In den Betrieben der Untersuchungsgefängnisse Zürich (UGZ) wird stundenweise in Kleingruppen Unterricht erteilt. Der Unterricht erfolgt auf freiwilliger Basis, da in der Untersuchungs- und Sicherheitshaft keine gesetzliche Pflicht zur Aus- und Weiterbildung der Inhaftierten besteht. Im Gegensatz zu den erwachsenen Straftätern gilt für Jugendliche im Gefängnis Limmattal eine obligatorische Schulpflicht. Für diese Ausbildung steht eine Lehrperson bereit.  

Weiterführende Informationen

Verwenden Sie die Akkordeon-Bedienelemente, um die Sichtbarkeit der jeweiligen Panels (unterhalb der Bedienelemente) umzuschalten.

Kontakt

Justizvollzug & Wiedereingliederung Mehr erfahren

Adresse

Postfach
Hohlstrasse 552
8090 Zürich
Route anzeigen

Telefon

Für dieses Thema zuständig: