Living in Zurich

In the Canton of Zurich, you will find a regular housing market, but also non-profit housing options. Fees apply to internet, radio and TV access; household insurance and personal liability insurance is not mandatory by law. Zurich has a comprehensive waste management and recycling system.

Table of contents

Find a house or an apartment

Available houses or apartments can mainly be found in the internet, in (local) newspapers or via housing agencies. In addition to the regular housing market, you will also find non-profit housing organizations offering inexpensive rental fees. Various organizations offer affordable housing to young people in training and to students. There are also special internet platforms on which rooms for rent are
advertised. If you are interested in renting an apartment, you will usually have to submit an application form and various documents such as a letter of application, a current extract from the debt enforcement register, references or salary statements. After moving in, you have two weeks’ time to register with your new municipality of residence.

Household insurance and personal liability insurance

In Switzerland, it is not mandatory by law but certainly recommended to take out a household insurance and a personal liability insurance. The household insurance will cover costs related to damage caused to your possessions due to fire, water, theft, or glass breakage. The personal liability insurance will cover the costs related to damage to property or persons caused by the insured person.

TV, internet and telephony

There are various communication providers offering telephony, internet, and cable TV services. However, your choice may be limited as access depends on your place of residence and sometimes even on your residential building. It is worthwhile to compare internet providers as their services and prices vary significantly.

If you have a device in your home that provides access to electronic media (smartphone, TV, computer, etc.), you must pay radio and television licence fees in Switzerland. The company Serafe is responsible for collecting the respective fees.

Waste management

Rubbish bags are regularly collected in the residential areas. For household waste, there are official rubbish bags or bags with specific rubbish stamps. The required type of bag or stamp depends on your municipality or town. Bags and/or stamps can be bought at supermarkets. There are special collection points or special collection schedules for certain types of waste (e.g. paper, batteries, glass, cardboard, organic waste, aluminium, metal, textiles, oil, etc.). At almost all points of sale, you may dispose of plastic bottles (PET bottles) and other plastic packaging free of charge.

Special or hazardous waste (electrical goods, medicines, etc.) can usually be returned to where it was purchased. Each municipality or town has its own waste disposal schedule or waste calendar, which you will receive when you register. The schedules will tell you in detail where and when you can dispose of your waste.

Contact

Fachstelle Integration More information

Address

Neumühlequai 10
8090 Zürich
Show route

Phone

+41 43 259 25 31


Bürozeiten

Montag bis Freitag
9 bis 12 Uhr und 14 bis 17 Uhr

Für dieses Thema zuständig:

Wohnen

Neben dem regulären Wohnungsmarkt gibt es im Kanton Zürich auch gemeinnützige Angebote. Gebührenpflichtig sind Internet und Radio-TV, Hausrat- und Privathaftpflichtversicherung sind nicht obligatorisch. Das Angebot an Abfallentsorgung ist vielfältig.

Inhaltsverzeichnis

Wohnung oder Haus finden

Wohnungs- und Hausangebote finden Sie hauptsächlich im Internet, in den (Lokal-)Zeitungen oder über Agenturen. Ergänzend zum regulären Wohnungsmarkt gibt es im Kanton Zürich sogenannte gemeinnützige Wohnungsangebote mit tieferen Mietpreisen. Für junge Menschen in Ausbildung und Studierende existieren verschiedene Organisationen, die bezahlbaren Wohnraum anbieten. Ausserdem gibt es spezielle Internetportale auf denen Zimmer ausgeschrieben werden.

Wer sich für eine Wohnung interessiert, muss normalerweise ein Bewerbungsformular und verschiedene Unterlagen einreichen: ein Bewerbungsschreiben, einen aktuellen Betreibungsregisterauszug, Referenzen oder Lohnauszüge. Nach dem Einzug haben Sie zwei Wochen Zeit, um sich bei der neuen Wohngemeinde anzumelden.

Hausrat- und Privathaftpflichtversicherung

Die Hausrat- und Privathaftpflichtversicherung sind in der Schweiz nicht obligatorisch, aber empfehlenswert. Die Hausratversicherung übernimmt die Kosten für Schäden, die etwa durch Feuer, Wasser, Diebstahl und Glasbruch an Ihrem Besitz entstanden sind. Die Privathaftpflichtversicherung bezahlt Sach- und Personenschäden, welche die versicherte Person verursacht hat.

TV, Internet und Telefon

Für Telefon, Internet und Kabel-Fernsehen gibt es verschiedene Anbietende. Es kommt auf den Wohnort und teilweise auf das Haus an, welche Angebote man nutzen kann. Da die Leistungen und Preise unterschiedlich sind, lohnt es sich, zu vergleichen.

Wer in seiner Wohnung ein Gerät hat, das elektronische Medien empfangen kann (Smartphone, TV, Computer etc.), entrichtet in der Schweiz Radio- und Fernsehgebühren. Für den Einzug der Gebühren ist die Firma Serafe zuständig.

Abfallentsorgung

Der Abfall wird regelmässig in den Wohnquartieren eingesammelt. Für den Hausmüll gibt es in jeder Gemeinde oder Stadt offizielle Kehrichtsäcke oder Säcke mit Kehrichtmarken, die man zum Beispiel im Supermarkt kaufen kann. Für gewisse Abfälle gibt es besondere Sammelstellen oder spezielle Sammlungen (etwa für Papier, Batterien, Glas, Karton, Bioabfälle, Aluminium, Metall, Textilien, Öl usw.). Plastikflaschen (PET-Flaschen) und andere Plastikverpackungen kann man bei fast allen Verkaufsstellen gratis entsorgen. Sonderabfälle (Elektroartikel, Medikamente usw.) können meistens dort zurückgebracht werden, wo sie gekauft worden sind.

Jede Gemeinde oder Stadt hat einen eigenen Entsorgungsplan oder Abfallkalender, den man bei der Anmeldung erhält. Dort steht, welche Abfälle man wann und wo entsorgen kann.  

Weiterführende Informationen

Verwenden Sie die Akkordeon-Bedienelemente, um die Sichtbarkeit der jeweiligen Panels (unterhalb der Bedienelemente) umzuschalten.

Kontakt

Fachstelle Integration Mehr erfahren

Adresse

Neumühlequai 10
8090 Zürich
Route anzeigen

Telefon

+41 43 259 25 31


Bürozeiten

Montag bis Freitag
9 bis 12 Uhr und 14 bis 17 Uhr

Für dieses Thema zuständig: