Language

Zurich belongs to the German-speaking cantons of Switzerland. In everyday life, people in Zurich speak Swiss German, a German dialect. If you understand and speak the local language, you will feel integrated much faster. A huge range of German language courses and translations is available to you.

Table of contents

Standard German and Swiss German

The official language of the Canton of Zurich is German. There is a difference between standard (or high) German and Swiss German (Swiss dialect). Standard German is used in written communication throughout the German-speaking part of Switzerland, whereas in everyday life, people usually speak Swiss German. However, you may easily use standard German in a conversation and kindly ask your counterpart to do so as well. In the Canton of Zurich, German language skills are not only important when it comes to communication. Understanding and speaking the local language is also a prerequisite if you wish to extend your residence permit or apply for a settlement permit.

German language courses

Depending on your level of language and your needs, you may choose from a vast range of German language courses available – there are even classes offering childcare. Before you enrol in a German language course, you may want to find out more about the different types of courses and their fees. The costs do vary and often have to be paid by the students themselves. Some institutions offer inexpensive or even free courses. We also recommend that you contact and ask your local authorities about possible state-subsidized courses. With the Caritas Culture Pass, the so-called KulturLegi, some German language courses are available at reduced prices. Caritas Zurich offers its Culture Pass to people who have to live on little money.

Translation services

Besides conventional translation services, there are also (intercultural) translators who can assist you on site or via telephone to translate from and into various languages. They may help you deal with topics such as health, education, or social matters. Moreover, many information centres offer their services in various languages.

Contact

Fachstelle Integration More information

Address

Neumühlequai 10
8090 Zürich
Show route

Phone

+41 43 259 25 31


Bürozeiten

Montag bis Freitag
9 bis 12 Uhr und 14 bis 17 Uhr

Für dieses Thema zuständig:

Sprache

Zürich gehört zu den deutsch sprechenden Kantonen der Schweiz. Im Alltag wird Dialekt gesprochen. Wer die einheimische Sprache spricht, ist schneller integriert. Das Angebot an Deutschkursen und Übersetzungen ist gross.

Inhaltsverzeichnis

Hochdeutsch und Schweizerdeutsch

Im Kanton Zürich wird offiziell Deutsch gesprochen. Dabei unterscheidet man zwischen Hochdeutsch und Schweizerdeutsch (Dialekt). Im schriftlichen Verkehr wird in der ganzen Deutschschweiz Hochdeutsch verwendet. Mündlich dominiert im Alltag der Dialekt. Sie können aber ohne weiteres Hochdeutsch verwenden und Ihr Gegenüber darum bitten, Ihnen ebenso zu antworten. Deutschkenntnisse sind im Kanton Zürich nicht nur für die Verständigung wichtig. Sie sind auch eine Voraussetzung, wenn Sie Ihre Aufenthaltsbewilligung verlängern oder eine Niederlassungsbewilligung beantragen möchten.

Deutschkurse

Je nach Sprachniveau und Bedürfnis gibt es verschiedene Angebote für Deutschkurse – zum Beispiel auch solche mit Kinderbetreuung. Vor dem Besuch eines Deutschkurses lohnt es sich, sich über die verschiedenen Kurstypen und deren Preise zu informieren. Die Kosten sind unterschiedlich hoch und müssen oft selber bezahlt werden. Einige Institutionen bieten günstigere bis kostenlose Kurse an. Wir empfehlen Ihnen, sich bei Ihrer Wohngemeinde bei Bedarf auch über staatlich subventionierte Deutschangebote zu informieren. Mit der KulturLegi von Caritas können manche Deutschkurse zu reduzierten Preisen besucht werden. Die KulturLegi erhalten Menschen, die mit wenig Geld leben müssen, bei Caritas Zürich.  

Übersetzungen

Neben den herkömmlichen Übersetzungsangeboten gibt es (interkulturelle) Dolmetscherinnen und Dolmetscher, die vor Ort oder per Telefon in diverse Sprachen und zu verschiedenen Themen wie Gesundheit, Bildung und Soziales übersetzen. Auch manche Beratungsstellen bieten ihre Dienstleistungen in verschiedenen Sprachen an.  

Kontakt

Fachstelle Integration Mehr erfahren

Adresse

Neumühlequai 10
8090 Zürich
Route anzeigen

Telefon

+41 43 259 25 31


Bürozeiten

Montag bis Freitag
9 bis 12 Uhr und 14 bis 17 Uhr

Für dieses Thema zuständig: