School & Education

Our educational system is subdivided into three levels. The compulsory period of education is eleven years. When choosing their career or degree programme, young people can seek advice on training and study options and apply for scholarships if necessary.

Table of contents

Three Educational Levels

In general, Switzerland makes a distinction between three educational levels built on each other: (1) compulsory education, (2) vocational education and training or intermediate school and (3) higher vocational education, university of applied sciences or university.

Compulsory Education

In the Canton of Zurich, all children go to school for at least eleven years. The schools are mixed-gender, multi-ethnic and denominationally neutral. The children attend kindergarten from the age of four (2 years), followed by primary school (6 years) and secondary school level I (3 years). Compulsory Public School is free of charge. Parents are free to choose a private school for their children at their own expense.

To register your child for school or kindergarten, you can either contact your residential municipality or get in touch with the school management directly. If you have any questions about the Swiss educational system, the Career and Academic Studies Counselling
can assist you.

Vocational Education and Training and Intermediate Schools

Vocational education and training (VET) prepares young people for a specific occupation in a two to four-year apprenticeship, which is a combination of learning the practical skills in a company and attending class at VET School.

Intermediate Schools prepare young people for academic studies at a university or university of applied sciences. There are Intermediate Schools which are completed with a Baccalaureate, and those which are completed with a Specialised Baccalaureate or Federal Vocational Baccalaureate.

Higher Vocational Education, Universities and Universities of Applied Sciences

Higher vocational education allows for professionals to specialise and amplify their expertise. It is subsequent to VET School (apprenticeship). A Baccalaureate is not required.

In Switzerland, a distinction is made between universities - the Swiss Federal Institutes of Technology (ETH) included - and universities of applied sciences. Universities of applied sciences tend to teach practice-oriented; universities tend to teach theory-oriented. A Baccalaureate is required for admission. For university admission in Switzerland with a foreign Baccalaureate Diploma, please contact the university directly. The respective university will inform you about admission terms and recognition of foreign diplomas.

Career Choices for Young People

Career counsellors assist young people in choosing their career or degree programme. The Career and Academic Studies Counselling provides individual counselling and information.

Scholarships

Scholarships and loans lend support to persons on a low income. Cantonal education grants can be applied for by submitting a request.

Contact

Fachstelle Integration More information

Address

Neumühlequai 10
8090 Zürich
Show route

Phone

+41 43 259 25 31


Bürozeiten

Montag bis Freitag
9 bis 12 Uhr und 14 bis 17 Uhr

Für dieses Thema zuständig:

Schule & Bildung

Unser Bildungssystem ist in drei Stufen gegliedert. Die obligatorische Schulzeit beträgt elf Jahre. Jugendliche können sich bei der Berufs- und Studienwahl über die Ausbildungen beraten lassen und bei Bedarf Stipendien beantragen.

Inhaltsverzeichnis

Drei Bildungsstufen

In der Schweiz unterscheidet man grundsätzlich zwischen drei aufeinander aufbauenden Bildungsstufen: (1) obligatorische Schule, (2) berufliche Grundbildung oder Mittelschule und (3) höhere Berufsbildung, Fachhochschule oder Universität.

Obligatorische Schule

Alle Kinder gehen im Kanton Zürich während mindestens elf Jahren zur Schule. Der Unterricht ist gemischt und konfessionell neutral. Ab dem vierten Lebensjahr besuchen die Kinder den Kindergarten (2 Jahre). Danach folgen die Primarschule (6 Jahre) und die Sekundarstufe I (3 Jahre). Die öffentliche Schule ist kostenlos. Den Eltern steht es frei, für ihre Kinder eine private Schule zu wählen, doch müssen sie deren Kosten tragen.

Um Ihr Kind bei der Schule oder beim Kindergarten anzumelden, wenden Sie sich entweder an Ihre Wohngemeinde oder direkt an die Leitung des Schulhauses. Bei Fragen zum Schweizer Bildungssystem hilft die Berufs-, Studien- und Laufbahnberatung weiter.

Berufliche Grundbildung und Mittelschulen

Die berufliche Grundbildung bereitet die Jugendlichen in einer zwei- bis vierjährigen Berufslehre auf einen spezifischen Beruf vor. Während dieser Zeit erlernen die Jugendlichen in einem Betrieb die praktischen Fähigkeiten, ergänzend besuchen sie eine Berufsfachschule.

Mittelschulen bereiten die Jugendlichen auf eine akademische Ausbildung an einer Schweizer Hochschule vor. Es gibt Mittelschulen, die mit einer gymnasialen Maturität abgeschlossen werden, und solche, an denen eine Fach- oder Berufsmaturität erlangt wird.

Höhere Berufsbildung, Fachhochschulen und Universitäten

Im Rahmen der höheren Berufsbildung können sich Berufsfachleute spezialisieren und ihr Fachwissen vertiefen. Die höhere Berufsbildung schliesst an die berufliche Grundbildung (Berufslehre) an. Es wird keine Maturität dafür benötigt.

Bei den Schweizer Hochschulen unterscheidet man zwischen Fachhochschulen und universitären Hochschulen (Universitäten/ETH). An Fachhochschulen wird eher praxisorientiert unterrichtet, an Universitäten eher theorieorientiert. Für den Zugang wird eine Maturität benötigt. Wer mit einem ausländischen Maturitätszeugnis an einer Schweizer Hochschule studieren möchte, sollte sich direkt an die jeweilige Hochschule wenden. Diese informiert über die Zulassungs- und Anerkennungsbestimmungen.

Berufswahl für Jugendliche

Berufsberaterinnen und Berufsberater unterstützen Jugendliche bei der Berufs- und Studienwahl. Einzelberatungen und Auskunft erteilt etwa die Berufs-, Studien- & Laufbahnberatung.

Stipendien

Stipendien und Darlehen unterstützen Personen mit tiefem Einkommen. Mittels eines Gesuchs können kantonale Ausbildungsbeiträge beantragt werden.

Weiterführende Informationen

Verwenden Sie die Akkordeon-Bedienelemente, um die Sichtbarkeit der jeweiligen Panels (unterhalb der Bedienelemente) umzuschalten.

Kontakt

Fachstelle Integration Mehr erfahren

Adresse

Neumühlequai 10
8090 Zürich
Route anzeigen

Telefon

+41 43 259 25 31


Bürozeiten

Montag bis Freitag
9 bis 12 Uhr und 14 bis 17 Uhr

Für dieses Thema zuständig: