Mobility

There is hardly any place in the Canton of Zurich which cannot be reached by public transport (train, bus or tram). Vehicle registrations are issued by the Road Traffic Office, which will also convert your foreign driver’s licence into a locally valid licence. No permit is required for bicycles.

Table of contents

Public transport

Almost any place in the Canton of Zurich can be reached by train or bus. Additionally, the city of Zurich has various tram lines. If you use public transport on a regular basis, we recommend that you inquire about travelcards or multi-journey tickets. Moreover, there are discount tickets or day passes that are offered by many municipalities at reduced prices. If you use public transport after midnight (so-called ZVV Nighttime Network), a special supplement applies in addition to the regular ticket fee (night supplement). Please check the websites of the Zurich Transport Network (Zürcher Verkehrsverbund ZVV) or the Swiss Federal Railways (SBB) for more information on tickets, discounts and travelcards.

Motor vehicles (car/motorbike)

If you possess a driver’s licence, you have 12 months’ time in order to convert it into a Swiss driver’s licence. Please submit the respective application to the Road Traffic Office of the Canton of Zurich.

If you import your car or motorbike to Switzerland and wish to register it here, you must declare your car or motorbike at customs control. Once you have completed the necessary formalities of customs control, you must contact the Road Traffic Office in order to register your car or motorbike. Please note that you may only drive your motor vehicle in Switzerland if it is insured (motor vehicle insurance).

The use of the roads in Switzerland is free of charge, except for motorways. You are required to purchase a motorway tax sticker, the so-called Vignette. You may purchase a Vignette at customs control, at petrol stations and post offices or at the Road Traffic Office of the Canton of Zurich.

Bicycles

No permit or exam is required in Switzerland to ride a bike. It is not mandatory to wear a protective helmet, but it is certainly advisable to do so. We also recommend that you take out a personal liability insurance as you will be personally held liable if you cause damage to people or objects.

Further information

Use the accordion controls to toggle the visibility of each panel (below the controls).

Contact

Fachstelle Integration More information

Address

Neumühlequai 10
8090 Zürich
Show route

Phone

+41 43 259 25 31


Bürozeiten

Montag bis Freitag
9 bis 12 Uhr und 14 bis 17 Uhr

Für dieses Thema zuständig:

Mobilität

Kaum eine Ortschaft im Kanton, die nicht mit den öffentlichen Verkehrsmittel Bahn, Bus oder Tram zu erreichen ist. Zulassungen für Fahrzeuge erteilt das Strassenverkehrsamt. Dort werden auch ausländische Führerscheine in hiesige umgewandelt. Für Fahrräder braucht es keine Bewilligung.

Inhaltsverzeichnis

Öffentliche Verkehrsmittel

Im Kanton Zürich ist praktisch jede Ortschaft mit der Bahn oder mit Bussen erreichbar. In der Stadt Zürich existieren zudem Tramlinien. Bei regelmässigen Fahrten mit den öffentlichen Verkehrsmitteln lohnt es sich, Informationen über Abonnemente oder Vergünstigungskarten einzuholen. Es gibt auch Sparbillette, zudem bieten viele Gemeinden Tageskarten zu einem vergünstigten Preis an. Auf das Nachtnetz muss zusätzlich zum Ticket ein spezieller Zuschlag bezahlt werden (Nachtzuschlag). Informationen zu Tickets, Vergünstigungen und Abonnementen erhalten Sie beim Zürcher Verkehrsverbund (ZVV) oder bei den Schweizerischen Bundesbahnen (SBB).

Fahrzeuge (Auto/Motorrad)

Wer bereits einen Führerausweis besitzt, hat 12 Monate Zeit, um diesen in einen Schweizer Führerausweis umwandeln zu lassen. Das entsprechende Gesuch richten Sie an das Strassenverkehrsamt des Kantons Zürich.

Wenn Sie ein Auto oder Motorrad in die Schweiz mitnehmen und hier anmelden möchten, müssen Sie das Auto oder Motorrad am Zoll anmelden. Wenn Sie die nötigen Papiere des Zolls haben, ist anschliessend das Strassenverkehrsamt für die Zulassung des Autos in der Schweiz zuständig. Bitte beachten Sie, dass in der Schweiz nur Motorfahrzeuge benutzt werden dürfen, die versichert sind (Auto- oder Motorradversicherung).

Mit Ausnahme der Autobahnen können die Strassen in der Schweiz gebührenfrei benutzt werden. Für Fahrten auf den Autobahnen ist eine sogenannte Vignette vorgeschrieben. Diese ist direkt beim Zoll, an Tankstellen, am Postschalter oder beim Strassenverkehrsamt des Kantons Zürich erhältlich.

Fahrrad

Um in der Schweiz Fahrrad zu fahren, ist kein spezieller Ausweis und auch keine Prüfung nötig. Obwohl keine Pflicht besteht, empfiehlt sich das Tragen eines Helms sowie das Abschliessen einer Privathaftpflichtversicherung, da selber für Schäden (an Personen oder Gegenständen) gehaftet wird.

Weiterführende Informationen

Verwenden Sie die Akkordeon-Bedienelemente, um die Sichtbarkeit der jeweiligen Panels (unterhalb der Bedienelemente) umzuschalten.

Kontakt

Fachstelle Integration Mehr erfahren

Adresse

Neumühlequai 10
8090 Zürich
Route anzeigen

Telefon

+41 43 259 25 31


Bürozeiten

Montag bis Freitag
9 bis 12 Uhr und 14 bis 17 Uhr

Für dieses Thema zuständig: