Work

The Agreement on the Free Movement of Persons generally applies to EU/EFTA nationals. Depending on your nationality, however, your access to the labour market may be restricted. Please inquire whether you need a work permit and whether your diplomas and certificates are recognized in Switzerland.

Table of contents

Access to the labour market

Before you may take up employment, your residence status must be clarified by your local authorities of your place of residence. The requirements for your residence and your work permit depend on your nationality and the reason for your stay. This also applies to persons who have recently arrived in Switzerland on grounds of family reunification or because they are in a partnership with a resident.

The free movement of persons generally applies to EU/EFTA nationals. However, access to the labour market may (still) be restricted depending on your nationality. For example, special transitional provisions still apply to Croatian nationals due to Croatia’s recent accession to the EU. Non-EU/EFTA nationals (so-called third-country nationals) may only take up employment if they have a work permit. We recommend that you contact your local authorities at your place of residence or the Zurich Office for Economy and Labour early on.

Find a job

Job offers can be found on the Internet or in newspapers. Additionally, there are also private employment agencies. If you wish to apply for job, you will have to submit various documents such as your curriculum vitae, a motivation letter and, if available, copies of your degree certificates, diplomas and job references.

Recognition of diplomas

We recommend that you inquire about the recognition of your foreign diplomas and certificates well ahead. Depending on the industry, the recognition procedures are complex and may require a long validation time. Not all foreign diplomas and certificates are recognized in Switzerland.

Contact

Fachstelle Integration More information

Address

Neumühlequai 10
8090 Zürich
Show route

Phone

+41 43 259 25 31


Bürozeiten

Montag bis Freitag
9 bis 12 Uhr und 14 bis 17 Uhr

Für dieses Thema zuständig:

Arbeit

Für EU/EFTA-Staatsangehörige gilt die Personenfreizügigkeit. Je nach Staatszugehörigkeit kann der Zugang zum Arbeitsmarkt eingeschränkt sein. Informieren Sie sich, ob Sie eine Abeitsbewilligung benötigen und ob Ihre Diplome anerkannt werden.

Inhaltsverzeichnis

Zugang zum Arbeitsmarkt

Bitte klären Sie vor dem Arbeitsantritt bei Ihrer Wohngemeinde Ihre Aufenthaltsregelung. Welche Voraussetzungen für einen Aufenthalt und eine Arbeitsbewilligung erfüllt sein müssen, ist von Ihrer Staatsangehörigkeit und dem Grund Ihres Aufenthalts abhängig. Dies gilt auch für Personen, die im Familiennachzug oder in einer Partnerschaft neu in die Schweiz gekommen sind.dem Arbeitsantritt bei Ihrer Wohngemeinde Ihre Aufenthaltsregelung.

Für EU/EFTA-Staatsangehörige gilt grundsätzlich die Personenfreizügigkeit. Trotzdem kann der Zugang zum Arbeitsmarkt je nach Staatsangehörigkeit (noch) eingeschränkt sein. Beispielsweise gelten für kroatische Staatsangehörige aufgrund ihres späteren Beitritts zur EU noch spezielle Übergangsbestimmungen. Nicht-EU/EFTA-Staatsangehörige (Drittstaatenangehörige) dürfen erst erwerbstätig sein, wenn Sie über eine Arbeitsbewilligung verfügen. Wir empfehlen Ihnen, sich bei Ihrer Wohngemeinde oder beim Amt für Wirtschaft und Arbeit frühzeitig zu erkundigen.

Arbeitsstelle finden

Stellenangebote finden Sie im Internet und in den Zeitungen. Daneben gibt es private Stellenvermittlungsbüros. Für die Bewerbung sind unterschiedliche Unterlagen einzureichen – etwa einen Lebenslauf, ein Motivationsschreiben und wenn möglich Kopien von Abschlusszeugnissen, Diplomen und Arbeitszeugnissen.

Diplomanerkennung

Wir empfehlen Ihnen, sich frühzeitig über die Anerkennung ausländischer Diplome und Abschlüsse zu informieren. Je nach Branche sind die Anerkennungsverfahren komplex und dauern lange. Nicht alle ausländischen Diplome und Abschlüsse sind in der Schweiz anerkannt.

Kontakt

Fachstelle Integration Mehr erfahren

Adresse

Neumühlequai 10
8090 Zürich
Route anzeigen

Telefon

+41 43 259 25 31


Bürozeiten

Montag bis Freitag
9 bis 12 Uhr und 14 bis 17 Uhr

Für dieses Thema zuständig: