Entry of Third-Country Nationals with Gainful Employment

A preliminary decision taking into account the current conditions of the labour market must be obtained by third-country nationals before they can take up employment in Switzerland. Such preliminary decision is issued by the Office for Economy and Labour of the Canton of Zurich. The residence permit is subsequently issued by the Migration Office.

Limited admission for third-country nationals

On 1st of November 1998, the so-called dual admission system was introduced with regard to the admission of foreign nationals intending to take up gainful employment in Switzerland. The Agreement on the Free Movement of Persons, in force since 1st of June 2002, facilitates the admission of gainfully employed EU/EFTA nationals, but at the same time limits the admission of third-country nationals to specialized and qualified professionals. Please find further information on residence and gainful employment of EU/EFTA nationals on the respective page.

Permit requirement

Third-country nationals who wish to take up gainful employment in Switzerland need a permit irrespective of the duration of their stay. Applications for such permit are to be submitted to the Office for Economy and Labour (AWA). Please find all the details about preliminary decisions as well as the application form under Economy and Labour. The Federal Council, i.e. the Swiss government, limits the number of first-time short-term permits and residence permits for work purposes by means of quotas defined on an annual basis.

Use the accordion controls to toggle the visibility of each panel (below the controls).

Yes, you may. Spouses and children (children under the age of 21 or dependent children) of an EU/EFTA national as well as spouses and children of Swiss citizens and persons holding a settlement permit or a residence permit may, irrespective of their nationality, take up gainful employment.

Quotas are quantitative limits defined by the Federal Council on an annual basis. In addition to quotas for short-term permits and residence permits for third-country nationals, service providers from EU/EFTA countries as well as Croatian citizens are subject to quotas.

In 2020, a total of 8,500 specialists from third countries may be recruited. This equals the quota of the previous year and exceeds the quota of 2018 by 500. There are 4,500 residence permits (B) and 4,000 short-term permits (L) available. Please find further information on the website of the Swiss State Secretariat for Migration (SEM).

Application procedure

A step-by-step procedure applies to the application for a work permit.

  1. The application for a work permit must be submitted by the employer to the Office of Economy and Labour (AWA). Please find more information here.
  2. The AWA issues a preliminary decision (work permit) based on the current conditions of the labour market.
  3. If a positive preliminary decision is issued, the AWA will forward it to the Swiss State Secretariat for Migration (SEM) for approval.
  4. If the SEM grants the approval, the respective documents will be sent to the Migration Office, which will review the application for a work permit from a legal perspective. It is possible that a permit is refused if there are grounds for revocation even though a positive preliminary decision was originally issued.  
  5. If all requirements related to the law on foreign nationals are fulfilled, the Migration Office will issue the work permit.
  6. If the applicant is still abroad when the permit is granted, the Migration Office authorizes the respective representation abroad to issue a visa and an entry permit. If no visa is required, the Migration Office will issue an official confirmation to the attention of the employer.
  7. Upon entry into Switzerland, the applicant must register with his/her new place of residence. The respective municipality will arrange for an appointment with the new resident in order to collect his/her biometric data. Please find more details about your biometric residence permit here.
  8. The applicant must present him-/herself personally to the Migration Office for the collection of his/her biometric data.
  9. Once the biometric residence permit is processed and issued, it will be delivered by postal mail to the applicant.

Use the accordion controls to toggle the visibility of each panel (below the controls).

If a foreign national who resides outside of the Canton of Zurich wishes to take up gainful employment in the Canton of Zurich, the Migration Office will grant an approval to take up employment once a positive preliminary decision is issued. In the reverse case, an approval to take up employment must be obtained by the respective Canton.

Other possibilities to apply for gainful employment

Besides short-term permits related to temporary work permits of less than one year and residence permits related to permanent or multi-year work permits, third-country nationals may also apply for a shorter stay allowing gainful employment in Switzerland. Such short stays of less than four months are not subject to quotas.

Short-term employment

Foreign nationals who were granted an entry permit to take up gainful employment or to provide cross-border services in Switzerland for a total of four months within 12 months do not need to register and are not required to get a foreign national identity card. Instead of a foreign national identity card, the applicant will receive an entry permit. Depending on the country of origin, some applicants also require a visa in addition to the entry permit. Such visa is issued by the Swiss representation in the respective country.

8-day-rule

The so-called 8-day-rule stipulates that no short-term permit or residence permit is required if the cross-border service or the temporary gainful employment of a foreign employer does not exceed 8 days within a calendar year. If it has to be expected that the gainful activity will exceed 8 days, an application must be submitted before expiry of the original 8 days. Once the application is submitted, the gainful activity may be continued until the respective permit is granted unless the AWA or the Migration Office issues an order to the contrary.

The 8-day-rule does not apply to the following industries and services. This means that a permit is required in any case before any gainful activity is taken up:  

  • Main construction industry and construction-related industry
  • Gastronomy as well as commercial and residential cleaning services
  • Surveillance and security services
  • Travel industry
  • Erotic services

Contact

Migrationsamt

Address

Postfach
Berninastrasse 45
8090 Zürich
Show route


Montag bis Freitag
8.00 bis 16.30 Uhr 

Phone

+41 43 259 88 00

Telefon

 

Montag bis Freitag
8.00 bis 12.00 Uhr und
13.00 bis 16.30 Uhr

Einreise mit Erwerbstätigkeit für Drittstaatsangehörige

Um in der Schweiz arbeiten zu können, brauchen Angehörige eines Drittstaates einen arbeitsmarktlichen Vorentscheid. Dieser wird durch das Amt für Wirtschaft und Arbeit des Kantons Zürich ausgestellt. Die Bewilligung für den Aufenthalt wird anschliessend vom Migrationsamt ausgestellt.

Inhaltsverzeichnis

Begrenzte Zulassung für Drittstaatsangehörige

Seit dem 1. November 1998 gilt für die Zulassung von Ausländern, die in der Schweiz eine Erwerbstätigkeit aufnehmen möchten, das duale Zulassungssystem. Das Freizügigkeitsabkommen, in Kraft seit dem 1. Juni 2002, erleichtert die Zulassung von Erwerbstätigen aus der EU/EFTA, während die Zulassung von Drittstaatsangehörigen nach dem Ausländergesetz (AIG) auf spezialisierte und qualifizierte Arbeitskräfte begrenzt ist. Alle weiteren Informationen für den Aufenthalt mit Erwerbstätigkeit für EU/EFTA-Staatsangehörige finden Sie auf der entsprechenden Seite. 

Bewilligungspflicht

Drittstaatsangehörige, welche in der Schweiz eine Erwerbstätigkeit ausüben wollen, benötigen unabhängig von der Dauer ihres Aufenthalts eine Bewilligung. Diese ist beim Amt für Wirtschaft und Arbeit (AWA) zu beantragen. Alle Informationen zum arbeitsmarktlichen Vorentscheid sowie das Gesuchsformular finden Sie unter Wirtschaft und Arbeit. Die Zahl der erstmaligen Kurzaufenthalts- und Aufenthaltsbewilligungen zur Ausübung einer Erwerbstätigkeit wird vom Bundesrat mittels jährlich festzulegender Kontingente begrenzt. 

Verwenden Sie die Akkordeon-Bedienelemente, um die Sichtbarkeit der jeweiligen Panels (unterhalb der Bedienelemente) umzuschalten.

Ja. Der Ehegatte bzw. die Ehegattin und die Kinder (die noch nicht 21 Jahre alt oder unterhaltsberechtigt sind) eines oder einer EU/EFTA-Staatsangehörigen sowie Ehegatten und Kinder von Schweizerinnen und Schweizern und Personen mit einer Niederlassungs- oder Aufenthaltsbewilligung können unabhängig ihre Staatsangehörigkeit einer Erwerbstätigkeit nachgehen.

Kontingente sind Höchstzahlen die jährlich vom Bundesrat festgelegt werden. Neben der Kontingentierung der Kurzaufenthalts- und Aufenthaltsbewilligungen für Drittstaatsangehörige, unterstehen auch die Dienstleistungserbringer aus der EU/EFTA sowie kroatische Staatsangehörige den Höchstzahlen.

Im Jahr 2020 können insgesamt 8'500 Spezialistinnen und Spezialisten aus Drittstaaten rekrutiert werden. Dies sind gleich viele wie im Vorjahr und 500 mehr als 2018. Für diese stehen 4'500 Aufenthaltsbewilligungen (B) und 4'000 Kurzaufenthaltsbewilligungen (L) zur Verfügung. Weitere Informationen dazu finden Sie auf der Homepage des Staatssekretariats für Migration (SEM). 

Gesuchsverfahren

Das Verfahren für eine Bewilligung zur Erwerbstätigkeit läuft schrittweise ab. 

  1. Das Gesuch zur Aufnahme einer Erwerbtsätigkeit (resp. Arbeitsbewilligung) ist vom Arbeitgeber beim Amt für Wirtschaft und Arbeit (AWA) einzureichen. Mehr Informationen dazu finden Sie hier
  2. Das AWA erlässt einen arbeitsmarktlichen Vorentscheid (Arbeitsbewilligung). 
  3. Den positiven arbeitsmarktlichen Vorentscheid leitet das AWA zur Zustimmung an das Staatssekretariat für Migration (SEM) weiter. 
  4. Erteilt das SEM die Zustimmung, werden sämtliche Unterlagen an das Migrationsamt weitergeleitet, damit das Gesuch um Erteilung einer Bewilligung zur Erwerbstätigkeit aus ausländerrechtlicher Sicht geprüft werden kann. Denn eine Bewilligung kann trotz Vorliegen eines positiven arbeitsmarktlichen Entscheids verweigert werden, wenn Widerrufsgründe vorliegen. 
  5. Sind auch die ausländerrechtlichen Voraussetzungen erfüllt, erteilt das Migrationsamt die Bewilligung zur Erwerbstätigkeit.
  6. Befindet sich die betroffene Person noch im Ausland, wenn der Entscheid gutgeheissen wird, so ermächtigt das Migrationsamt die Auslandvertretung zur Visumausstellung mittels Einreiseerlaubnis. Besteht keine Visumpflicht, so stellt das Migrationsamt zuhanden dem Arbeitgeber eine Zusicherung der Bewilligung aus. 
  7. Nach der Einreise erfolgt die Anmeldung auf der Gemeinde. Auf der Gemeinde erhält die betroffene Person zudem einen Termin zur Erfassung der biometrischen Daten. Alles zu Ihrem biometrischen Ausweis erfahren Sie hier
  8. Zur Erfassung der biometrischen Daten muss die betroffene Person persönlich beim Migrationsamt vorsprechen. 
  9. Der Ausweis wird produziert und der betroffenen Person per Post zugestellt. 

Verwenden Sie die Akkordeon-Bedienelemente, um die Sichtbarkeit der jeweiligen Panels (unterhalb der Bedienelemente) umzuschalten.

Wenn eine ausländische Person mit Wohnsitz ausserhalb des Kantons Zürich eine Erwerbstätigkeit im Kanton Zürich aufnehmen will, wird vom Migrationsamt nach Eingang des arbeitsmarktlichen Vorentscheids ein Einverständnis zur Erwerbstätigkeit ausgestellt. Im umgekehrten Fall muss das Einverständnis zur Erwerbstätigkeit des Ausländers beim zuständigen Kanton eingeholt werden. 

Weitere Möglichkeiten für eine Erwerbstätigkeit

Neben der Kurzaufenthaltsbewilligung für befristete Arbeitsverträge unter einem Jahr und der Aufenthaltsbewilligung für unbefristete bzw. überjährige Arbeitsverträge bestehen für Drittstaatsangehörige weitere Möglichkeiten für einen kürzeren Aufenthalt mit Erwerbstätigkeit in der Schweiz. Diese Aufenthalte von weniger als vier Monaten sind nicht kontingentiert. 

Kurzfristige Erwerbstätigkeit

Ausländerinnen und Ausländer, die eine Einreiseerlaubnis zur Ausübung einer Erwerbstätigkeit oder einer grenzüberschreitenden Dienstleistung in der Schweiz von insgesamt vier Monaten innerhalb von 12 Monaten erhalten haben, müssen sich nicht anmelden und benötigen keinen Ausländerausweis. Anstelle eines Ausländerausweises erhalten die Betroffenen eine Einreiseerlaubnis. Visumspflichtige Personen benötigen zusätzlich zur Einreiseerlaubnis ein Visum, welches von der Schweizerischen Auslandvertretung ausgestellt wird. 

8-Tage-Regelung

Die sogenannte 8-Tage-Regelung besagt, dass keine Kurzaufenthalts- oder Aufenthaltsbewilligung benötigt wird, wenn eine grenzüberschreitende Dienstleisung oder eine vorübergehende Erwerbstätigkeit für einen ausländischen Arbeitgeber nicht länger als 8 Tage innerhalb eines Kalenderjahres dauert. Stellt sich heraus, dass die Tätigkeit länger als 8 Tage dauert, so ist vor Ablauf dieser 8 Tage eine Anmeldung erforderlich. Nach der Anmeldung kann die Erwerbstätigkeit bis zur Erteilung der Bewilligung weitergeführt werden, wenn weder das AWA noch das Migrationsamt eine gegenteilige Verfügung erlässt. 

In den nachfolgenden Bereichen gilt die 8-Tage-Regelung nicht. D.h. es ist in jedem Fall bereits beim Stellenantritt eine Bewilligung erforderlich: 

  • Bauhaupt- und Baunebengewerbe
  • Gestgewerbe und Reinigungsgewerbe in Betrieben und Haushalten
  • Überwachung- und Sicherheitsdienst
  • Reisendengewerbe
  • Erotikgewerbe

Weiterführende Informationen

Verwenden Sie die Akkordeon-Bedienelemente, um die Sichtbarkeit der jeweiligen Panels (unterhalb der Bedienelemente) umzuschalten.

Kontakt

Migrationsamt

Adresse

Berninastrasse 45
Postfach
8090 Zürich
Route anzeigen


Montag bis Freitag
8.00 bis 16.30 Uhr 

 

 

Telefon

+41 43 259 88 00

Telefon

 

Montag bis Freitag
8.00 bis 12.00 Uhr und
13.00 bis 16.30 Uhr 

 

 

Lageplan Migrationsamt