Meilen Secure Unit

Teaser Abteilung Meilen

The Meilen Secure Unit is affiliated to the Bachtel Correctional Facility. At the moment, it is being operated as a quarantine station for detainees at the beginning of their prison term.

Table of contents

About us

Under normal circumstances, the Meilen Secure Unit (Abteilung Meilen) is used for the execution of alternative custodial sentences of under 30 days and for the detainment of persons who are not suited for open custody in the Bachtel Correctional Facility. Due to the coronavirus pandemic, the Meilen Secure Unit has been operated as a quarantine station for detainees at the beginning of their prison term since May 11, 2020.

This is why the duration of the detained persons’ stay is generally limited to 10 days. The unit’s quarantine function entails a regime with relatively drastic restrictions. There are no private visits allowed in the Meilen Secure Unit and gifts or parcels for the inmates are rejected. Inmates can use the telephone to stay in touch with the outside world during their 10-day stay. They can not do any work due to quarantine. The committed persons spend most of their time in single cells, but they are allowed to spend at least one hour a day outside. Whenever operationally possible, the time spent outdoors is prolonged.

If a committed person’s stay exceeds 10 days, they will be tested for the SARS-CoV-2 virus before the 10 days are over. If the results are negative, the person is transferred to a regular prison. If the results are positive, the person is moved to the isolation station at Horgen Prison.

Contact

Bachtel Correctional Facility – Meilen Secure Unit

More information

Address

Untere Bruech 141
8706 Meilen
Show route

Abteilung Meilen

Teaser Abteilung Meilen

Die Abteilung Meilen ist dem Vollzugszentrum Bachtel (VZB) angegliedert. Sie wird zurzeit als Station zur Eintrittsquarantäne in den Strafvollzug betrieben.

Inhaltsverzeichnis

Über uns

Die Abteilung Meilen steht normalerweise für den Vollzug von Ersatzfreiheitsstrafen von weniger als 30 Tagen und für Inhaftierte, die sich nicht für den offenen Vollzug im VZB eignen, zur Verfügung. Seit dem 11. Mai 2020 wird die Abteilung Meilen im Rahmen der Corona-Pandemie als Station zur Eintrittsquarantäne in den Strafvollzug betrieben.

Aufgrund dieser Funktion ist die Dauer des Aufenthalts grundsätzlich auf 10 Tage beschränkt. Die Quarantänefunktion hat ein Vollzugsregime mit relativ starken Einschränkungen zur Folge. So finden in der Abteilung Meilen keine privaten Besuche statt und es werden keine Gaben oder Pakete für die Insassen entgegengenommen. Der Kontakt zur Aussenwelt kann während der 10 Tage per Telefon gepflegt werden. Die Quarantäne erlaubt keinen Arbeitsbetrieb. Die eingewiesenen Personen verbringen den Vollzug grundsätzlich in Einzelzellen, wobei ein täglicher Aussenaufenthalt von mindestens einer Stunde garantiert ist. Sofern betrieblich möglich, wird die Dauer des Aussenaufenthalts entsprechend erhöht.

Bei Vollzügen, die länger als 10 Tage dauern, wird die eingewiesene Person vor Ablauf der 10 Tage auf das SARS-CoV-2 Virus getestet. Bei einem negativen Testergebnis erfolgt die Verlegung in eine reguläre Vollzugsinstitution. Bei einem positiven Ergebnis erfolgt eine Verlegung auf die Isolationsstation des Gefängnisses Horgen.

Kontakt

Vollzugszentrum Bachtel – Abteilung Meilen

Mehr erfahren

Adresse

Untere Bruech 141
8706 Meilen
Route anzeigen

Telefon